Updated: June 20, 2024
Name: Korotun Yevgeniy Nikolayevich
Date of Birth: April 13, 1970
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 1 day in a temporary detention facility, 616 day in a pre-trial detention, 54 day Under house arrest, 767 day in prison
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 7 years, with serving the sentence in a correctional colony of general regime; deprivation of the right to engage in pedagogical activities in all types of educational institutions and activities related to the placement of appeals and other materials in public information and telecommunication networks, including the Internet for a period of 5 years, with restriction of freedom for a period of 1 year
Currently held in: Penal Colony No. 13 in Sverdlovsk Region
Address for correspondence: Korotun Yevgeny Nikolayevich, born 1970, IK No. 13 in Sverdlovsk Region, ul. Kulibina, 61, g. Nizhny Tagil, Sverdlovsk Region, Russia, 622058.

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «zonatelecom».

Parcels and parcels should not be sent because of the limit on their number per year.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

In the summer of 2020, Yevgeniy Korotun, the father of a minor child, was charged with extremism and taken into custody. Relatives and friends of the believer wonder how this law-abiding and peaceful citizen found himself under the yoke of criminal prosecution.

Yevgeniy was born in April 1970 into a family of workers at the Siberian Chemical Plant in Seversk. He has a younger sister, Oksana, a teacher by profession. Yevgeniy studied at an art school, from the age of 12 he was fond of photography, read a lot. After receiving secondary education, he got a job as an equipment operator at the plant and worked there for 15 years. Later, the man was engaged in the manufacture of furniture, coating walls with decorative plaster, and in recent years he worked as a plumber. He retired in April 2020.

Eugene scrupulously studied the Bible for 10 years. He became convinced that this was a book from God, and in 2008 he embarked on the Christian path of life. Evgenia, the wife of a persecuted for faith, shares not only his religious beliefs, but also her husband's many hobbies: cycling, ice skating, family outdoor recreation, reading and drawing. She is a chemist-technologist by profession, as a child she studied in circus and theater studios, graduated from art school. The couple have a son, Alexander, who is fond of music, dancing, sports and reading. Yevgeniy also has an adult daughter from his first marriage.

Case History

In July 2020, in Seversk, officers of the Investigative Committee and the FSB raided Yevgeniy Korotun’s apartment. During a long search, Yevgeniy’s wife and their nine-year-old son were kept in the stairway. A day earlier, a criminal case was initiated against the believer. Yevgeniy spent two days in a temporary detention center and 54 days under house arrest, after which he was sent to a pre-trial detention center. He was accused of organizing the activities of an extremist organization because he held peaceful worship services. The basis for the accusation was hidden audio and video recordings made by Kira Klisheva and Yelena Studenova, an officer of the Russian National Guard. Both women feigned an interest in the Bible. At the end of March 2021, the case went to the city court. In January 2022, the court sentenced the believer to seven years in prison. The appellate and cassation courts upheld this decision. The believer is serving his sentence in a penal colony in Nizhny Tagil.

Обновлено: 1 марта 2024 г.
ФИО: Коротун Евгений Николаевич
Дата рождения: 13 апреля 1970 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей: 1 день в ИВС, 616 дней в СИЗО, 54 дня под домашним арестом, 656 дней в колонии
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы сроком 7 лет, с отбыванием наказания в исправительной колонии общего режима; лишение права заниматься педагогической деятельностью во всех типах образовательных учреждений и деятельностью связанной с размещением обращений и иных материалов в информационно-телекомунникационных сетях общего пользования, включая сеть Интернет сроком на 5 лет, с ограничением свободы сроком на 1 год
Текущее местонахождение: исправительная колония № 13 по Свердловской области
Адрес для корреспонденции: Коротуну Евгению Николаевичу, 1970 г. р., ИК № 13 по Свердловской области, ул. Кулибина, 61, г. Нижний Тагил, Свердловская область, 622058.

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «zonatelecom».

Посылки и бандероли отправлять не следует из-за лимита на их количество в год.

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

Летом 2020 года Евгения Коротуна, отца несовершеннолетнего ребенка, обвинили в экстремизме и заключили под стражу. Родные и друзья верующего недоумевают, как этот законопослушный и мирный гражданин оказался под гнетом уголовного преследования.

Евгений родился в апреле 1970 года в семье работников Сибирского химического комбината в Северске. У него есть младшая сестра Оксана, педагог по профессии. Евгений учился в художественной школе, с 12 лет увлекался фотографией, много читал. Получив среднее образование, устроился работать аппаратчиком на комбинате и трудился там 15 лет. Позднее мужчина занимался изготовлением мебели, декоративной штукатуркой, а последние годы работал сантехником. В апреле 2020-го он вышел на пенсию.

Евгений скрупулезно исследовал Библию 10 лет. Он убедился, что это книга от Бога, и в 2008 году стал на христианский путь жизни. Евгения, жена преследуемого за веру, разделяет не только его религиозные убеждения, но и многочисленные увлечения мужа: велопрогулки, катание на коньках, семейный отдых на природе, чтение и рисование. По профессии она химик-технолог, в детстве занималась в цирковой и театральной студиях, окончила художественную школу. Супруги воспитывают сына Александра, который увлекается музыкой, танцами, спортом и чтением. У Евгения также есть взрослая дочь от первого брака.

Краткая история дела

В июле 2020 года в Северске сотрудники Следственного комитета и ФСБ вторглись в квартиру Евгения Коротуна. Во время длительного обыска супругу Евгения и их 9-летнего сына держали на лестничной площадке. Днем ранее против верующего было возбуждено уголовное дело. Евгений провел 2 дня в ИВС и 54 дня под домашним арестом, а затем был отправлен в СИЗО. Его обвинили в организации деятельности экстремистской организации за проведение мирных богослужений. Основанием послужили скрытые аудио- и видеозаписи, которые делали Кира Клишева и Елена Студёнова, сотрудница Росгвардии. Обе женщины изображали интерес к Библии. В конце марта 2021 года дело поступило в городской суд. В январе 2022 года суд приговорил верующего к 7 годам лишения свободы. Апелляция и кассация утвердили это решение. Верующий отбывает наказание в колонии в Нижнем Тагиле.