Updated: April 22, 2024
Name: Popkova Yuliya Yuriyevna
Date of Birth: December 17, 1978
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 1 day in a temporary detention facility, 36 day in a pre-trial detention, 63 day Under house arrest
Current restrictions: Suspended sentence
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 2 years 6 months, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of public and religious organizations (associations) for a term of 3 years, with restriction of liberty for a term of 6 months, a sentence of imprisonment shall be considered suspended with a probationary period of 3 years

Biography

The life of Yuliya Popkova was not easy from childhood. She grew up in an incomplete and dysfunctional family. Mom died early, so the girl's fragile shoulders took care of her autistic younger sister until her death in 2009. In April 2021, Yuliya faced another serious test - because of her faith in Jehovah, she ended up in a pre-trial detention center.

Yuliya was born in the city of Bogoroditsk (Tula region) in December 1978. She had a younger sister as well as a half-brother and sister. As a child, she loved to draw, was actively involved in sports - volleyball, basketball, played for the school team. She loved to read, especially Russian classics, enjoyed learning something new.

After studying to be an accountant, Yuliya worked as a seamstress, a dough sheeter operator in a confectionery shop, a shoe uppers at a factory and a nanny in a kindergarten. The children loved her very much, and the management often asked for help as a talented graphic designer. Recently she worked in a cleaning company, where she has established herself as a decent, responsible and accurate employee.

As before, Yuliya loves reading, listening to audiobooks, cycling, playing tennis and doing Pilates. She enjoys spending time with her friends in nature.

Yuliya never had a loving family, she did not feel parental care, so she could not believe that someone could really love and appreciate her. The knowledge of the Creator from the Bible melted her heart and helped to get answers to her questions about the meaning of life. In 1999, she became a Christian.

The criminal prosecution had a negative impact on Yuliya's health. Friends are worried and worried about her, because they do not understand why a decent and honest person, always ready to help, is accused of extremism.

Case History

In April 2021, security forces searched 17 addresses of Jehovah’s Witnesses in Tula and Kireevsk. In March of the same year, the FSB opened a criminal case against Gurami Labadze, Yevgeny Godunov, Angela Putivskaya and Yulia Popkova against each on charges of extremism. The investigation considered it a crime to “organize religious speeches” and “carry out preaching activities.” After searches and interrogations, Gurami was placed under house arrest, and Angela, Yulia and Yevgeniy were placed in a pre-trial detention center. A month later, they were also placed under house arrest. Later, all were replaced by a measure of restraint on their own recognizance. The case went to court in April 2023, and in November the court handed down a sentence: Godunov and Labadze - 6 years and 6 months of suspended imprisonment, Putivskaya and Popkova - 2 years and 6 months of probation.

Обновлено: 2 марта 2024 г.
ФИО: Попкова Юлия Юрьевна
Дата рождения: 17 декабря 1978 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденная
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провела под стражей: 1 день в ИВС, 36 дней в СИЗО, 63 дня под домашним арестом
Текущие ограничения: Условное наказание
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы на срок 2 года 6 месяцев, с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с руководством и участием в работе общественных и религиозных организаций (объединений) на срок 3 года, с ограничением свободы на срок 6 месяцев, наказание в виде лишения свободы считать условным с испытательным сроком 3 года

Биография

Жизнь Юлии Попко́вой с детства была нелегкой. Она росла в неполной и неблагополучной семье. Мама рано умерла, поэтому на хрупкие плечи девушки легла забота о страдающей аутизмом младшей сестре вплоть до ее смерти в 2009 году. В апреле 2021 года на долю Юлии выпало еще одно серьезное испытание — из-за своей веры в Иегову она оказалась в СИЗО.

Юлия родилась в городе Богородицк (Тульская область) в декабре 1978 года. У нее была младшая сестра, а также сводные брат и сестра. В детстве она любила рисовать, активно занималась спортом — волейболом, баскетболом, играла за школьную команду. Любила читать, особенно русскую классику, с удовольствием познавала что-то новое.

Отучившись на бухгалтера, Юлия работала швеей, оператором тестораскаточной машины в кондитерском цехе, сборщицей верха обуви на заводе и няней в детском саду. Дети ее очень любили, а руководство часто обращалось за помощью как к талантливому художнику-оформителю. Последнее время работала в клининговой компании, где зарекомендовала себя, как порядочного, ответственного и аккуратного работника.

Как и прежде, Юлия любит читать, слушать аудиокниги, кататься на велосипеде, играть в теннис и заниматься пилатесом. Ей нравится проводить время с друзьями на природе.

У Юлии никогда не было любящей семьи, она не чувствовала родительской заботы, поэтому не могла поверить, что кто-то может ее любить и ценить по-настоящему. Знания о Творце из Библии растопили ее сердце и помогли получить ответы на волнующие ее вопросы о смысле жизни. В 1999 году она стала христианкой.

Уголовное преследование негативно сказалось на здоровье Юлии. Друзья обеспокоены и переживают за нее, так как не понимают, почему порядочного и честного человека, всегда готового прийти на помощь, обвиняют в экстремизме.

Краткая история дела

В апреле 2021 года в Туле и Киреевске силовики провели обыски по 17 адресам Свидетелей Иеговы. В марте того же года в отношении Гурами Лабадзе, Евгения Годунова, Анжелы Путивской и Юлии Попковой ФСБ возбудила против каждого уголовное дело по обвинению в экстремизме. Следствие посчитало преступлением «организацию религиозных выступлений» и «осуществление проповеднической деятельности». После обысков и допросов Гурами был отправлен под домашний арест, а Анжелу, Юлию и Евгения водворили в СИЗО. Спустя месяц их также перевели под домашний арест. Позднее всем заменили меру пресечения на подписку о невыезде. Дело поступило в суд в апреле 2023 года, а в ноябре года суд вынес приговор: Годунову и Лабадзе — 6 лет и 6 месяцев лишения свободы условно, Путивской и Попковой — 2 года и 6 месяцев условного срока.