Updated: April 19, 2024
Name: Martynov Nikolay Aleksandrovich
Date of Birth: August 26, 1958
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Time spent in prison: 2 day in a temporary detention facility, 927 day in a pre-trial detention
Current restrictions: Detention center
Sentence: punishment in the form of 7 years of imprisonment with serving a sentence in a general regime colony, with deprivation of the right to engage in organizational activities in public or religious associations, public or religious organizations for a term of 5 years, with restriction of liberty for a term of 1 year 2 months
Currently held in: Detention Centre No. 1 in Irkutsk Region
Address for correspondence: Martynov Nikolay Alekseyevich, born 1958, Detention Centre No. 1 in Irkutsk Region, ul. Barrikad, 63, Irkutsk, Russia, 664019

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «FSIN-letter system». To pay for service with the card of a foreign bank use Prisonmail.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

After a series of searches in Irkutsk in October 2021, 63-year-old Nikolay Martynov was detained for his faith. For 20 years he practiced a religion that the authorities recognized as peaceful and legal, but later declared "extremist."

Nikolay was born in 1958 into a large family: he has six brothers and sisters. The family lived in the village of Bandarka (Irkutsk region). As a child, Nikolay often went fishing with his father. After school, he studied at a vocational school as a combine operator and driver, which he worked for all his life.

In 1982, Nikolay married Irina. She is a cook by profession and worked in a kindergarten. Now Irina is retired and loves to bake homemade bread. In 1997, she met believers and began reading the Bible. New knowledge prompted Irina to leave the position in which she was forced to act dishonestly. Soon his husband also showed interest in the Bible: the fulfilling Bible prophecies convinced Nikolay that this book can be trusted. The couple later became Christians together.

Nikolay and Irina have two adult children, whom they raised in accordance with the principles from the Holy Scriptures. The son is an individual entrepreneur. In his leisure time, he enjoys snowboarding. The daughter works as a laboratory assistant at the university. The family enjoys spending time in nature. Nikolay still loves fishing, and also pleases loved ones by playing the accordion.

The life of a friendly family, whose members are used to doing everything together, has changed a lot after Nikolay's detention. His health deteriorated, a chronic illness worsened, which made it difficult for him to speak. Relatives who do not share Nikolay's convictions are concerned about his unfair persecution.

Case History

In October 2021, a series of searches took place in Irkutsk and the Irkutsk region, which were accompanied by pogroms and brutal beatings of peaceful believers. It turned out that Yaroslav Kalin, Sergey Kosteev, Nikolay Martynov, Mikhail Moysh, Aleksey Solnechny, Andrey Tolmachev, and Sergey Vasilyev are suspected of extremism for practicing the religion of Jehovah’s Witnesses (Article 282.2 of the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation). After searches and interrogations, the security forces detained seven men, and soon six of them were sent to a pre-trial detention center, and one was placed under house arrest. After 2 months, law enforcement officers conducted two more searches: in the village of Askiz (Republic of Khakassia) in the home of Denis Sarazhakov and in the city of Mezhdurechensk (Kemerovo region) with Igor Popov. Both of them were arrested, taken more than 1500 km to Irkutsk and placed in custody. In December 2022, the case of the believers went to court. In January 2024, the court sentenced them to various terms of imprisonment in a penal colony, from 3 to 7 years, satisfying the prosecutor’s request.

Обновлено: 1 марта 2024 г.
ФИО: Мартынов Николай Александрович
Дата рождения: 26 августа 1958 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: подсудимый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Провел под стражей: 2 дня в ИВС, 878 дней в СИЗО
Текущие ограничения: Следственный изолятор
Текущее местонахождение: СИЗО № 1 по Иркутской области
Адрес для корреспонденции: Мартынову Николаю Александровичу, 1958 г. р., СИЗО № 1 по Иркутской области, ул. Баррикад, 63, Иркутск, 664019

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «ФСИН-письмо». Для оплаты писем картой иностранного банка воспользуйтесь сервисом Prisonmail.

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

После серии обысков в октябре 2021 года в Иркутске 63-летний Николай Марты́нов оказался под стражей за свою веру. 20 лет он исповедовал религию, которую власти признавали мирной и законной, но позже объявили «экстремистской».

Николай родился в 1958 году в многодетной семье: у него шесть братьев и сестер. Семья жила в деревне Бандарке (Иркутская область). В детстве Николай часто ездил с отцом на рыбалку. После школы отучился в профессионально-техническом училище на комбайнера и шофера, которым проработал всю жизнь.

В 1982 году Николай женился на Ирине. По профессии она повар, работала в детском саду. Сейчас Ирина на пенсии, любит печь домашний хлеб. В 1997 году она познакомилась с верующими людьми и начала читать Библию. Новые знания побудили Ирину уйти с должности, на которой ее вынуждали поступать нечестно. Вскоре интерес к Библии проявил и муж: исполняющиеся библейские пророчества убедили Николая, что этой книге можно доверять. Позднее супруги вместе стали христианами.

У Николая и Ирины двое взрослых детей, которых они воспитали в согласии с принципами из Священного Писания. Сын — индивидуальный предприниматель. На досуге он любит кататься на сноуборде. Дочь работает лаборантом в университете. Семье нравится проводить время на природе. Николай по-прежнему любит рыбалку, а также радует близких игрой на гармони.

Жизнь дружной семьи, члены которой привыкли все делать вместе, сильно изменилась после заключения Николая под стражу. Его здоровье пошатнулось, обострилось хроническое заболевание, из-за которого ему стало сложно говорить. Родные, не разделяющие убеждений Николая, обеспокоены его несправедливым преследованием.

Краткая история дела

В октябре 2021 года в Иркутске и Иркутской области прошла серия обысков, которая сопровождалась погромами и жестокими избиениями мирных верующих. Выяснилось, что за исповедание религии Свидетелей Иеговы Ярослава Калина, Сергея Костеева, Николая Мартынова, Михаила Мойша, Алексея Солнечного, Андрея Толмачева и Сергея Васильева подозревают в экстремизме. После обысков и допросов силовики всех их задержали и отправили шестерых из них в СИЗО, а одного под домашний арест. Спустя 2 месяца правоохранители провели еще два обыска: в селе Аскиз (Республика Хакасия) в жилище Дениса Саражакова и в городе Междуреченске (Кемеровская область) у Игоря Попова. Их обоих арестовали, увезли более чем за 1500 км в Иркутск и поместили под стражу. В декабре 2022 года дело верующих поступило в суд. Через год прокурор запросил для них от 3 до 7 лет колонии.