Updated: April 19, 2024
Name: Kalin Yaroslav Vasiliyevich
Date of Birth: April 30, 1969
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Time spent in prison: 1 day in a temporary detention facility, 928 day in a pre-trial detention
Current restrictions: Detention center
Sentence: punishment in the form of 7 years of imprisonment with serving a sentence in a general regime colony, with deprivation of the right to engage in organizational activities in public or religious associations, public or religious organizations for a term of 5 years, with restriction of liberty for a term of 1 year 2 months
Currently held in: Detention Centre No. 1 in Irkutsk Region
Address for correspondence: Kalin Yaroslav Vasiliyevich, born 1969, Detention Centre No. 1 in Irkutsk Region, ul. Barrikad, 63, Irkutsk, Russia, 664019

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «FSIN-letter system». To pay for service with the card of a foreign bank use Prisonmail.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

Yaroslav Kalin, a peaceful family man from Irkutsk, is one of Jehovah's Witnes in the fourth generation. In Soviet times, his parents were exiled from Ukraine to Siberia for their faith. In October 2021, Yaroslav himself was accused of a “crime against the state”.

Yaroslav was born in April 1969 in Siberia, where his parents were exiled during Operation “North” in 1951. Yaroslav has a younger sister. The father and mother worked at the local state farm, kept up the household, therefore, from early childhood, the children were accustomed to work.

In his youth, Yaroslav was fond of sports, loved music and played in a school ensemble. After school, he completed courses as a television mechanic, after that he worked for a long time in the repair of television and radio equipment.

In 1991, Yaroslav married Tatyana. She is a teacher by profession, enjoys interior design, loves to play the piano. The family had four children — two daughters and two sons. Yaroslav had to master different professions: an electrician, a joiner, a carpenter, as well as a manager in the field of trade, in order to provide for his large family.

One of the Kalins' daughters, Svetlana, is a lawyer. The other, Liliya, works in the field of software support. Vasiliy is currently doing alternative civilian service, since his convictions do not allow him to take up arms. In 2007, a great misfortune happened in the family: at the age of four, the youngest son Vitaliy died tragically.

The Kalins and their children loved to spend time together: to go to Lake Baikal, to meet with relatives and friends. The criminal prosecution deprived the wife and children of the support of the head of the family. Everyone experienced an emotional shock.

Relatives and friends, including those who do not share the religious beliefs of the Kalins, cannot understand why Yaroslav was arrested, because he did not commit any crime.

Case History

In October 2021, a series of searches took place in Irkutsk and the Irkutsk region, which were accompanied by pogroms and brutal beatings of peaceful believers. It turned out that Yaroslav Kalin, Sergey Kosteev, Nikolay Martynov, Mikhail Moysh, Aleksey Solnechny, Andrey Tolmachev, and Sergey Vasilyev are suspected of extremism for practicing the religion of Jehovah’s Witnesses (Article 282.2 of the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation). After searches and interrogations, the security forces detained seven men, and soon six of them were sent to a pre-trial detention center, and one was placed under house arrest. After 2 months, law enforcement officers conducted two more searches: in the village of Askiz (Republic of Khakassia) in the home of Denis Sarazhakov and in the city of Mezhdurechensk (Kemerovo region) with Igor Popov. Both of them were arrested, taken more than 1500 km to Irkutsk and placed in custody. In December 2022, the case of the believers went to court. In January 2024, the court sentenced them to various terms of imprisonment in a penal colony, from 3 to 7 years, satisfying the prosecutor’s request.

Обновлено: 1 марта 2024 г.
ФИО: Калин Ярослав Васильевич
Дата рождения: 30 апреля 1969 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: подсудимый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Провел под стражей: 1 день в ИВС, 879 дней в СИЗО
Текущие ограничения: Следственный изолятор
Текущее местонахождение: СИЗО № 1 по Иркутской области
Адрес для корреспонденции: Калину Ярославу Васильевичу, 1969 г. р., СИЗО № 1 по Иркутской области, ул. Баррикад, 63, Иркутск, 664019

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «ФСИН-письмо». Для оплаты писем картой иностранного банка воспользуйтесь сервисом Prisonmail.

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

Мирный семьянин из Иркутска Ярослав Ка́лин — Свидетель Иеговы в четвертом поколении. В советское время его родители за веру были сосланы из Украины в Сибирь. В октябре 2021 года в «преступлении против государства» был обвинен уже сам Ярослав.

Ярослав родился в апреле 1969 года в Сибири, куда его родителей сослали в ходе операции «Север» в 1951 году. У Ярослава есть младшая сестра. Отец и мать трудились в местном совхозе, вели домашнее хозяйство, поэтому с самого раннего детства дети приучились к труду.

В юные годы Ярослав увлекался спортом, любил музыку и играл в школьном ансамбле. После школы закончил курсы телемастера, после чего долгое время работал в сфере ремонта теле- и радиоаппаратуры.

В 1991 году Ярослав женился на Татьяне. Она педагог по профессии, увлекается дизайном интерьера, любит играть на фортепиано. В семье родились четверо детей — две дочери и два сына. Ярославу пришлось освоить разные профессии: электрика, столяра, плотника, а также менеджера в сфере торговли, чтобы обеспечивать свою многодетную семью.

Одна из дочерей Калиных, Светлана, работает юристом. Другая, Лилия, — в сфере технической поддержки программного обеспечения. Василий в настоящее время проходит альтернативную гражданскую службу, поскольку его убеждения не позволяют брать в руки оружие. В 2007 году в семье произошло большое несчастье: в возрасте четырех лет трагически погиб младший сын Виталий.

Супруги Калины и их дети любили проводить время вместе: ездить на Байкал, встречаться с родственниками и друзьями. Уголовное преследование лишило жену и детей поддержки главы семьи. Все испытали эмоциональное потрясение.

Родные и друзья, в том числе те, кто не разделяет религиозных убеждений Калиных, не могут понять, за что Ярослава арестовали, ведь он не совершил никакого преступления.

Краткая история дела

В октябре 2021 года в Иркутске и Иркутской области прошла серия обысков, которая сопровождалась погромами и жестокими избиениями мирных верующих. Выяснилось, что за исповедание религии Свидетелей Иеговы Ярослава Калина, Сергея Костеева, Николая Мартынова, Михаила Мойша, Алексея Солнечного, Андрея Толмачева и Сергея Васильева подозревают в экстремизме. После обысков и допросов силовики всех их задержали и отправили шестерых из них в СИЗО, а одного под домашний арест. Спустя 2 месяца правоохранители провели еще два обыска: в селе Аскиз (Республика Хакасия) в жилище Дениса Саражакова и в городе Междуреченске (Кемеровская область) у Игоря Попова. Их обоих арестовали, увезли более чем за 1500 км в Иркутск и поместили под стражу. В декабре 2022 года дело верующих поступило в суд. Через год прокурор запросил для них от 3 до 7 лет колонии.