Updated: June 20, 2024
Name: Murych Andrey Yuriyevich
Date of Birth: April 24, 1991
Current status: who has served the main sentence
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 2 day in a temporary detention facility, 304 day in a pre-trial detention
Sentence: штраф (300,000 RUB)
Currently held in: Detention Center No. 1 in Saratov Region
Address for correspondence: Murych Andrey Yuriyevich, born 1991, SIZO No. 1 in Saratov Region, ul. Kutyakova, 105, Saratov, Russia, 410012

Biography

Andrey Murych is one of 5 residents of Balakovo sent to a pre-trial detention center after searches of believers. He is a decent family man with a reputation as an honest worker and a reliable person, who was followed by the security forces. Andrey was accused of extremism and sent to prison only because of his belief in Jehovah God.

Andrey was born in 1991 in the city of Balakovo (Saratov region). He is the only child in the family. His parents are retired, but his father still works at the factory. As a child, Andrey played football and judo.

After graduating from school, Andrey immediately went to work. He worked as a loader, storekeeper, sales representative. Because of his peace-loving Christian convictions, Andrey at one time asked for the replacement of military service with an alternative civilian one. Prior to his arrest, he worked as a metallurgist.

Andrey first heard about the Bible from his grandmother. While examining this ancient book, he was impressed by the prophecies recorded in it. In 2007 Andrey decided to become a Christian and devoted his life to serving God.

Andrey met his future wife Anastasiya in a circle of friends. They got married in the summer of 2009. Anastasiya shares her husband's religious views. In his free time, Andrey likes to play football, basketball and volleyball. Anastasiya is fond of winter sports. The couple have a young daughter. Family hobby is travelling.

Relatives and friends are worried about what happened, because they cannot understand why such a decent person could be put in jail.

Case History

In May-June 2021, the residents of the city of Balakovo were under surveillance, their conversations were recorded. Considering peaceful discussions of the Bible to be extremism, the FSB opened a criminal case and received permission to search the homes of believers. A month later, security forces invaded 8 homes of Jehovah’s Witnesses. Aleksey Bogatov, Vladimir Mavrin, Yevgeniy Fomashin, Andrey Murych and Sergey Tyurin were placed in a temporary detention facility after night interrogations. Two days later, they were imprisoned in a pre-trial detention center 170 km from home. The court repeatedly extended the period of stay of believers in the pre-trial detention center, as a result of which they spent 10 months in custody. In January 2023, the court ruled to change the measure of restraint for believers to a ban on certain actions. The trial of the believers began in June of the same year.

Обновлено: 2 февраля 2023 г.
ФИО: Мурыч Андрей Юрьевич Murych, Andrey Yuriyevich
Дата рождения: 24 апреля 1991 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: обвиняемый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей: 2 дня в ИВС, 304 дня в СИЗО 2 days in temporary holding facility, 304 days in detention center
Текущая мера пресечения: Запрет определенных действий

Биография

Андрей Му́рыч — один из 5 жителей Балаково, отправленных в СИЗО после обысков у верующих. Он порядочный семьянин с репутацией честного работника и надежного человека, за которым вели слежку силовики. Андрея обвинили в экстремизме и отправили за решетку только из-за веры в Бога Иегову.

Андрей родился в 1991 году в городе Балаково (Саратовская область). Он единственный ребенок в семье. Родители на пенсии, но отец еще работает на заводе. В детстве Андрей занимался футболом и дзюдо.

После окончания школы Андрей сразу пошел работать. Он трудился грузчиком, кладовщиком, торговым представителем. Из-за своих миролюбивых христианских убеждений Андрей в свое время попросил о замене военной службы альтернативной гражданской. До ареста работал металлургом.

О Библии Андрей впервые услышал от своей бабушки. Исследуя эту древнюю книгу, он был впечатлен записанными в ней пророчествами. В 2007 году Андрей решил стать христианином и посвятил свою жизнь служению Богу.

С будущей супругой Анастасией Андрей познакомился в кругу друзей. Они поженились летом 2009 года. Анастасия разделяет религиозные взгляды мужа. В свободное время Андрей любит играть в футбол, баскетбол и волейбол. Анастасия увлекается зимними видами спорта. У супругов есть малолетняя дочь. Семейное хобби — путешествия.

Родные и друзья переживают из-за случившегося, так как никак не могут понять, за что такого порядочного человека могли посадить в СИЗО.

Краткая история дела

В мае-июне 2021 года за жителями города Балаково велась слежка, их разговоры записывались. Посчитав мирные обсуждения Библии экстремизмом, УФСБ по Саратовской области возбудило уголовное дело и получило разрешение на обыск в домах верующих. Месяц спустя силовики вторглись в 8 жилищ Свидетелей Иеговы. Алексея Богатова, Владимира Маврина, Евгения Фомашина, Андрея Мурыча и Сергея Тюрина поместили в ИВС после ночных допросов. Два дня спустя их заключили в СИЗО за 170 км от дома. Суд неоднократно продлевал срок нахождения верующих в СИЗО, в результате чего они провели под стражей 10 месяцев. В январе 2023 года суд постановил изменить меру пресечения верующим на запрет определенных действий.