Updated: July 12, 2024
Name: Bogatov Aleksey Viktorovich
Date of Birth: August 10, 1960
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 2 day in a temporary detention facility, 304 day in a pre-trial detention
Current restrictions: suspended sentence
Sentence: punishment in the form of 6 years of imprisonment, with deprivation of the right to lead public organizations for a term of 5 years, with restriction of liberty for a term of 1 year, punishment in the form of imprisonment shall be considered conditional with a probationary period of 4 years
Currently held in: Detention Center No. 1 in Saratov Region
Address for correspondence: Bogatov Aleksey Viktorovich, born 1960, SIZO No. 1 in Saratov Region, ul. Kutyakova, 105, Saratov, Russia, 410012

Biography

All his life, Aleksey Bogatov had been searching for justice. Bible study helped him find answers to his troubling questions, and in 1994 he became one of Jehovah's Witnesses. 27 years later, the believer was prosecuted for his beliefs.

Aleksey was born in 1960 in the village of Baklushi (Ulyanovsk Region). He has a sister. As a child, Aleksey was fond of hockey, football, skiing and swimming. After school, he received the profession of an engine maintenance technician at the Astrakhan nautical school.

In 1982, Aleksey married Lyubov, with whom he studied together at school from the 4th grade. The couple raised three sons. In their leisure time, the Bogatovs like to go to the forest for mushroom foraging. They enjoy swimming in the Volga and playing chess. Lyubov is now retired. She is fond of knitting. In his free time, Aleksey used to go to the gym and ride a bicycle. For some time, the believer worked at the fire station, and before his arrest, he worked as a driver at a medical center in Balakovo.

Relatives painfully endure the arrest of Aleksey and consider the criminal prosecution unfair. They do not understand why an honest and decent person is accused of extremism and inciting hatred.

Case History

In May-June 2021, the residents of the city of Balakovo were under surveillance, their conversations were recorded. Considering peaceful discussions of the Bible to be extremism, the FSB opened a criminal case and received permission to search the homes of believers. A month later, security forces invaded 8 homes of Jehovah’s Witnesses. Aleksey Bogatov, Vladimir Mavrin, Yevgeniy Fomashin, Andrey Murych and Sergey Tyurin were placed in a temporary detention facility after night interrogations. Two days later, they were imprisoned in a pre-trial detention center 170 km from home. The court repeatedly extended the period of stay of believers in the pre-trial detention center, as a result of which they spent 10 months in custody. In January 2023, the court ruled to change the measure of restraint for believers to a ban on certain actions. The trial of the believers began in June of the same year.

Обновлено: 24 января 2023 г.
ФИО: Богатов Алексей Викторович Bogatov, Aleksey Viktorovich
Дата рождения: 9 августа 1960 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: обвиняемый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей: 2 дня в ИВС, 304 дня в СИЗО 2 days in temporary holding facility, 304 days in detention center
Текущая мера пресечения: Запрет определенных действий

Биография

Всю жизнь Алексей Богатов искал справедливость. Исследование Библии помогло ему найти ответы на беспокоящие вопросы, и в 1994 году он стал Свидетелем Иеговы. 27 лет спустя за свои убеждения верующий подвергся уголовному преследованию.

Алексей родился в 1960 году в селе Баклуши (Ульяновская область). У него есть сестра. В детстве Алексей увлекался хоккеем, футболом, лыжами и плаванием. После школы получил профессию моториста 1-го класса в Астраханской мореходной школе.

В 1982 году Алексей женился на Любови, с которой учился вместе в школе с 4-го класса. Супруги воспитали троих сыновей. В свободное время Богатовы любят ездить в лес за грибами, купаться на Волге и играть в шахматы. Любовь сейчас на пенсии, она увлекается вязанием. Алексей в свободное время занимался в спортзале и ездил на велосипеде. Некоторое время верующий работал в пожарной части, а до ареста — водителем в медицинском центре в Балаково.

Родные болезненно переносят арест Алексея и считают уголовное преследование несправедливым. Они не понимают, почему честного и порядочного человека обвиняют в экстремизме и разжигании ненависти.

Краткая история дела

В мае-июне 2021 года за жителями города Балаково велась слежка, их разговоры записывались. Посчитав мирные обсуждения Библии экстремизмом, УФСБ по Саратовской области возбудило уголовное дело и получило разрешение на обыск в домах верующих. Месяц спустя силовики вторглись в 8 жилищ Свидетелей Иеговы. Алексея Богатова, Владимира Маврина, Евгения Фомашина, Андрея Мурыча и Сергея Тюрина поместили в ИВС после ночных допросов. Два дня спустя их заключили в СИЗО за 170 км от дома. Суд неоднократно продлевал срок нахождения верующих в СИЗО, в результате чего они провели под стражей 10 месяцев. В январе 2023 года суд постановил изменить меру пресечения верующим на запрет определенных действий.