Updated: May 20, 2024
Name: Sviridov Eduard Vyacheslavovich
Date of Birth: June 10, 1964
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 2 day in a temporary detention facility, 1000 day in a pre-trial detention
Current restrictions: detention center
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 6 years 6 months with serving the sentence in a correctional colony of general regime
Currently held in: Detention Center No. 2 in Moscow
Address for correspondence: Sviridov Eduard Vyacheslavovich, born 1964, SIZO No. 2 in Moscow, ul. Novoslobodskaya, 45, Moscow, Russia, 127055

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «FSIN-letter system». To pay for service with the card of a foreign bank use Prisonmail.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

In August 2021, a peaceful believer Eduard Sviridov was searched, detained and placed in a pre-trial detention center. The reason was the conversations about the Bible, which law enforcement agencies regard as organizing the activities of an extremist organization.

Eduard was born in June 1964 in Dushanbe (Tajikistan) in a simple family: his father worked as a truck driver, and his mother worked in a weaving factory. His father died early, and Eduard became the only support for his mother. From a young age, he loves to play sports. He also independently learned the basics of working with a computer, is well versed in computing.

After school, Eduard graduated from a vocational school and worked as a tractor driver. Then he served in the army in Afghanistan. In the early 1980s, he moved to Moscow.

In 1995, Eduard met Jehovah's Witnesses. What they were talking about interested him, since he had already read the Bible before. In February 1997, Eduard got married, and in November 1999, he and his wife embarked on the Christian path.

Case History

In August 2021, three Jehovah’s Witnesses, Eduard Sviridov, Sean Pike, and Aleksandr Rumyantsev, were arrested after searches in Moscow’s Teply Stan district. Because of their religion, they were accused of organizing the activities of an extremist organization. The believers were placed in a pre-trial detention center, where they spent 2 years and 4 months. In the first days of his imprisonment, the father of two, Sean Pike, a RUDN University graduate from Guyana, was placed in an overcrowded cell and forced to sleep on the floor. In October 2021, Pike had the coronavirus. The case went to court in November 2022. The accusation was based on hidden audio recordings made in Sviridov’s home. After 13 months, the case ended in a guilty verdict. The court sent the believers to a penal colony: Aleksandr Rumyantsev for 7.5 years, Sean Pike for 7 years, and Eduard Sviridov for 6.5 years.

Обновлено: 22 апреля 2024 г.
ФИО: Свиридов Эдуард Вячеславович
Дата рождения: 10 июня 1964 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей: 2 дня в ИВС, 970 дней в СИЗО
Текущие ограничения: Следственный изолятор
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы сроком на 6 лет 6 месяцев с отбыванием наказания в исправительной колонии общего режима
Текущее местонахождение: СИЗО № 2 по г. Москве
Адрес для корреспонденции: Свиридову Эдуарду Вячеславовичу, 1964 г. р., СИЗО № 2 по г. Москве, ул. Новослободская, 45, г. Москва, 127055

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «ФСИН-письмо». Для оплаты писем картой иностранного банка воспользуйтесь сервисом Prisonmail.

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

В августе 2021 года к мирному верующему Эдуарду Свиридову пришли с обыском, его задержали и поместили в СИЗО. Причиной стали беседы о Библии, которые правоохранительные органы расценивают как организацию деятельности экстремистской организации.

Эдуард родился в июне 1964 года в Душанбе (Таджикистан) в простой семье: отец работал дальнобойщиком, а мать — на ткацкой фабрике. Отец рано умер, и Эдуард стал единственной опорой для матери. С юных лет он любит заниматься спортом. Он также самостоятельно изучил основы работы с компьютером, хорошо разбирается в вычислительной технике.

После школы Эдуард окончил профессиональное училище и работал трактористом. Затем служил в армии на территории Афганистана. В начале 1980-х он переехал в Москву.

В 1995 году Эдуард познакомился со Свидетелями Иеговы. То, о чем они говорили, заинтересовало его, так как до этого он уже читал Библию. В феврале 1997 года Эдуард женился, а в ноябре 1999 года они с супругой встали на христианский путь.

Краткая история дела

В августе 2021 года в московском районе Теплый Стан после обысков были арестованы трое Свидетелей Иеговы — Эдуард Свиридов, Шон Пайк и Александр Румянцев. Из-за вероисповедания их обвинили в организации деятельности экстремистской организации. Верующих поместили в СИЗО, где они провели 2 года и 4 месяца. В первые дни заключения отца двоих детей Шона Пайка — выпускника РУДН из Гайаны — поместили в переполненную камеру и принуждали спать на полу. В октябре 2021 года Пайк переболел коронавирусом. Дело поступило в суд в ноябре 2022 года. Обвинение строилось на скрытых аудиозаписях, сделанных в жилище Свиридова. Через 13 месяцев рассмотрение дела завершилось обвинительным приговором. Суд отправил верующих в колонию общего режима: Александра Румянцев на 7,5 лет, Шона Пайка — на 7 лет, Эдуарда Свиридова — на 6,5 лет.