Updated: April 12, 2024
Name: Stepanov Nikolay Aleksandrovich
Date of Birth: April 13, 1974
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 4 day in a temporary detention facility, 300 day in a pre-trial detention, 43 day Under house arrest
Current restrictions: Suspended sentence
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 4 years, with deprivation of the right to engage in leadership activities in public associations for a term of 3 years, with restriction of liberty for a term of 1 year, a sentence of imprisonment shall be considered conditional with a probationary period of 4 years
Currently held in: Detention Center No. 2 in Vologda Region
Address for correspondence: Stepanov Nikolay Aleksandrovich, born 1974, SIZO No. 2 in Vologda Region, ul. Trudovaya, 2, g. Vologda, Vologda Region, Russia, 160019

Biography

Nikolay Stepanov was accused in a criminal case of extremism only because of his faith in 2019. In the fall of 2022, the court found him guilty and sentenced him to 4 years in prison.

Nikolay was born in 1974 in Vologda. He has two younger sisters. Their mother is no longer alive. As a child, Nikolay was fond of skiing. After school, he received the specialty of a turner. After serving in the army, he worked by profession, for some time he was engaged in decorating apartments.

As a child, Nikolay was fond of skiing. After school, he received the specialty of a turner. After serving in the army, he worked by profession, for some time he was engaged in decorating apartments.

According to Nikolay himself, he was an atheist, but he thought about how complex the human body is. In the mid-1990s, Nikolay met Alla, and she shared with him the Bible knowledge she had recently acquired with the help of her mother. Young people were convinced of the existence of God, and decided to take the Christian path.

In 1997, Nikolay and Alla got married. They raised their son Vyacheslav. The family loves camping together in nature, fishing, and skiing in winter. Alla takes care of the garden with pleasure.

Relatives of Nikolay, including his father, are at a loss because of what happened to a peaceful believer. Nikolay is known as a compliant, self-possessed person, always ready to help others. He himself emphasized in court: “Since I became a Christian, the meaning of my life has been to please God, whose name is Jehovah, and to help people recognize him. What I am accused of ascribing bad motives is completely at variance with both the beliefs of my religion and with my inner self".

Case History

In December 2019, the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation initiated a criminal case against two Jehovah’s Witnesses from Vologda. On the same day, searches were conducted in the homes of several believers, and Yuriy Baranov and Nikolay Stepanov were detained. Yuriy spent 1 day in a temporary detention facility and almost 3 months under house arrest; Nikolay spent 4 days in a temporary detention facility, then 8 months in a pre-trial detention center, after which he was placed under house arrest for 43 days. The believers were accused of organizing the activity of an extremist organization. According to the investigation, their criminal actions consisted of “arranging meetings and organizing religious talks and worship”. In January 2022, the case went to court. In September, Baranov was given a 4-year suspended sentence, and Stepanov was sentenced to 4 years in a penal colony. The appeal resulted in a more lenient sentence for Stepanov; his prison term was replaced with a suspended sentence. Baranov’s sentence remained unchanged.

Обновлено: 30 сентября 2022 г.
ФИО: Степанов Николай Александрович Stepanov, Nikolay Aleksandrovich
Год рождения: 1974
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей: 4 дня в ИВС, 235 дней в СИЗО № 2 по Вологодской области, 43 дня под домашним арестом 4 days in the temporary holding facility, 235 days in Detention Center No. 2 for Vologda Region, 43 days under house arrest
Текущая мера пресечения: Следственный изолятор
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы на срок 4 года с отбыванием в исправительной колонии общего режима, с лишением права заниматься руководящей деятельностью в общественных объединенениях на срок 3 года, с ограничением свободы на срок 1 год
Текущее местонахождение: СИЗО-2 г. Вологды (ул. Трудовая, д. 2) Detention Center No. 2 in Vologda Region
Адрес для корреспонденции: Степанову Николаю Александровичу, 1974 г. р., СИЗО №2 по Вологодской области, ул. Трудовая, 2, г. Вологда, Вологодская область, 160019 Stepanov Nikolay Aleksandrovich, born 1974, SIZO No. 2 in Vologda Region, ul. Trudovaya, 2, g. Vologda, Vologda Region, Russia, 160019

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой.

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

Николай Степанов оказался обвиняемым по уголовному делу об экстремизме только из-за своей веры в 2019 году. Осенью 2022 года суд признал его виновным и приговорил к 4 годам колонии.

Николай родился в 1974 году в Вологде. У него есть две младшие сестры. Их матери уже нет в живых.

В детстве Николай увлекался лыжным спортом. После школы он получил специальность токаря. Отслужив в армии, работал по профессии, какое-то время занимался отделкой квартир.

Со слов самого Николая, он был атеистом, но задумывался о том, насколько сложно устроен человеческий организм. В середине 1990-х годов Николай познакомился с Аллой, и она поделилась с ним библейскими знаниями, которые недавно приобрела с помощью своей матери. Молодые люди убедились в существовании Бога, и решили встать на христианский путь.

В 1997 году Николай и Алла поженились. Они воспитали сына Вячеслава. Семья любит вместе отдыхать с палатками на природе, ловить рыбу, а зимой кататься на лыжах. Алла с удовольствием ухаживает за огородом.

Родные Николая, включая его отца, в недоумении из-за того, что произошло с мирным верующим. Николая знают как уступчивого, выдержанного человека, всегда готового помочь другим. Сам он в суде подчеркнул: «С того времени как я стал христианином, смыслом моей жизни стало радовать Бога, имя которого Иегова, и помогать людям узнать его. То, что мне вменяют в вину, приписывая дурные мотивы, полностью расходится как с верованиями моей религии, так и с моим „я"».

Краткая история дела

В декабре 2019 года СУ СК России по Вологодской области возбудило уголовное дело в отношении двоих Свидетелей Иеговы. В тот же день в домах нескольких верующих прошли обыски, Юрия Баранова и Николая Степанова задержали. Юрий провел 1 день в ИВС и почти 3 месяца под домашним арестом. Николая после 4 дней в ИВС поместили в СИЗО, где он провел около 8 месяцев, а затем перевели под домашний арест на 43 дня. Верующих обвинили в организации деятельности экстремистской организации. По мнению следствия, преступные действия мужчин выражались «в созыве собраний, организации религиозных выступлений и богослужений». В январе 2022 года дело поступило в суд. Прокурор просил назначить Баранову 7 лет условно, а Степанову — 7 лет колонии. В сентябре суд приговорил Баранова к 4 годам условно, а Степанова — к 4 годам реального лишения свободы в колонии.