Updated: July 19, 2024
Name: Shalev Valeriy Anatoliyevich
Date of Birth: September 23, 1977
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 1 day in a temporary detention facility, 243 day in a pre-trial detention, 91 day Under house arrest
Current restrictions: suspended sentence
Sentence: punishment in the form of 6 years 6 months of imprisonment, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of religious organizations, for a period of 4 years, with restriction of liberty for a term of 1 year; The sentence of imprisonment shall be considered suspended with a probationary period of 5 years

Biography

Valery Shalev is one of 5 Smolensk believers who ended up behind bars in April 2019 because of their religious views. The criminal prosecution lasted almost 2 years. During this time, Ruslan spent about 8 months in a pre-trial detention center and 3 months under house arrest. After a year of legal proceedings, the believer was found guilty. In April 2021, the court sentenced him to 6.5 years of suspended imprisonment with a probation period of 5 years, 1 year of restriction of liberty and a ban on holding positions in religious organizations for a period of 4 years.

Valery was born in 1977 in Yartsevo (Smolensk region). Since childhood, he read a lot, studied English, loved popular science TV shows, and also went in for sports. He graduated from the Yaroslavl Military Institute of Finance and Economics and went to the Far East to work as a military financier.

While studying at the university, Valeriy's mother shared biblical knowledge with her son. At first, Valery tried to prove them wrong, but later realized that his mother was right: the Bible is the truth. Thus began Valery's acquaintance with the Holy Book.

In 1999, Valery married Svetlana, whom he met while still a student, and adopted her 4-year-old son. For some time the family lived in Khabarovsk, where Valery did his military service. After his discharge from the army, he worked as a chief accountant for several companies, and more recently as a financial consultant and hiring specialist. Valeriy is still actively involved in football and running, improving his knowledge of the English language. Svetlana works as a manicure instructor, and in her free time she likes to make gifts for friends.

Valeriy's relatives and friends are perplexed by the fact that such law-abiding and decent people like him have begun to be persecuted in Russia. They sincerely hope for a positive outcome of the case.

Case History

In April 2019, Jehovah’s Witnesses from Smolensk—Ruslan Korolev, Valery Shalev, and Viktor Malkov—were sent to jail. The day before, searches were carried out in their homes. Yevgeny Deshko was detained in Dagomys (Krasnodar Territory) as the fourth suspect in this criminal case. The believers spent 4 to 8 months in jail and another 3 to 7 months under house arrest. Due to the stress and conditions of detention in the pre-trial detention center, Viktor’s heart problems worsened, and he died without waiting for the trial. The criminal case under Part 1 of Article 282.2 of the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation was investigated by the FSB of Russia in the Smolensk Region. In the Industrial District Court of Smolensk, the prosecutor asked Judge Marina Masalskaya to send Shalev and Deshko to jail for 8 years, and Korolev for 9 years for discussing Christian teachings. In April 2021, a judge found them guilty, but sentenced them to suspended imprisonment ranging from 6 to 6.5 years. In August 2021, the Court of Appeal approved the punishment for the believers. The cassation court upheld the decisions of the lower courts.

Эта страница переведена с помощью машинного перевода. Машинный перевод этой страницы отключен.

Шалев Валерий
Valeriy Shalev

ФИО:
Шалев Валерий Анатольевич
Shalev, Valeriy Anatoliyevich
Год рождения:
1977
Текущий статус в уголовном деле:
осужденный
Статьи УК РФ:
282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей:
240 дней в СИЗО №1 по Смоленской области, 92 дня под домашним арестом
Текущая мера пресечения:
Подписка о невыезде
Обновлено 10 мая 2021 г.

Биография

Валерий Шалев — один из 5 смоленских верующих, оказавшихся за решеткой в апреле 2019 года из-за своих религиозных взглядов. Уголовное преследование длилось почти 2 года. За это время Руслан провел около 8 месяцев в СИЗО и 3 месяца под домашним арестом. После года судебных разбирательств верующий был признан виновным. В апреле 2021 года суд назначил ему наказание в виде 6,5 лет условного лишения свободы с испытательным сроком 5 лет, 1 год ограничения свободы и запрет занимать должности в религиозных организациях сроком на 4 года.

Валерий родился в 1977 году в г. Ярцево (Смоленская обл.). С детства много читал, изучал английский язык, любил научно-популярные телепередачи, а также занимался спортом. Окончил Ярославский военный финансово-экономический институт и уехал на Дальний Восток работать военным финансистом.

Еще во время учебы в вузе мама Валерия поделилась с сыном библейскими знаниями. Сначала Валерий старался доказать их ошибочность, но позже понял, что мама была права: Библия — это истина. Так началось знакомство Валерия со Священной Книгой.

В 1999 году Валерий женился на Светлане, с которой познакомился еще будучи студентом, и усыновил ее 4-летнего сына. Некоторое время семья жила в Хабаровске, где Валерий проходил военную службу. После увольнения из армии работал главным бухгалтером в нескольких компаниях, а последнее время — финансовым консультантом и специалистом по найму. Валерий по-прежнему активно занимается футболом и бегом, совершенствует знания английского языка. Светлана работает инструктором по маникюру, а в свободное время любит изготавливать подарки для друзей.

Родные и близкие Валерия пребывают в недоумении из-за того, что в России начали преследовать таких законопослушных и порядочных людей, как он. Они искренне надеются на положительный исход дела.

Краткая история дела

26 апреля 2019 года троих местных верующих — 36-летнего Руслана Королёва, 41-летнего Валерия Шалева и 60-летнего Виктора Малкова — отправили за решетку. Накануне прошли обыски в их домах. 30-летний Евгений Дешко был задержан в Дагомысе как четвертый подозреваемый по данному уголовному делу. Преследование верующих длилось почти 2 года. За это время они провели от 4 до 8 месяцев в СИЗО и еще от 3 до 7 месяцев под домашним арестом. Один из обвиняемых, Виктор Малков, скончался, не дождавшись суда. Уголовное дело по ч. 1 ст. 282.2 и ч. 1 ст. 282.3 УК РФ расследовало СО УФСБ России по Смоленской области. В Промышленном райсуде Смоленска прокурор попросил судью Марину Масальскую отправить за решетку Шалева и Дешко на 8 лет, а Королёва — на 9 лет за то, что они обсуждали христианские учения. В апреле 2021 года им был вынесен обвинительный приговор и назначено наказание от 6 до 6 с половиной лет лишения свободы условно с различными ограничениями и испытательным сроком.