Yelena Popova

Name:
Yelena Vyacheslavovna Popova
Born:
1963
Current status:
accused
Time spent in prison:
five days in a temporary holding facility (Kamchatka Region)

Электронные письма принимаются также через систему «ФСИН-письмо»

(Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского в СИЗО не пропускаются.)

Emails are also accepted via the “FSIN-letter” system.

(Note: the letters must not discuss topics related to criminal prosecution; letters in languages ​​other than Russian to the detention facilities are not accepted.)

Biography

Yelena Popova was arrested together with her husband, Mikhail, on 30 July 2018 in Kamchatka, and she spent several days in a temporary detention centre and under house arrest. She is charged under Article 282.2(1) and 282.2(1.1) in connection with “extremist activity”. What is known about her?

Yelena was born in 1963 in the city of Aleksin (Tula Region). As a child she studied piano at a music school, was fond of photography and sewing clothes. In 1972, she moved with her parents to Vilyuchinsk (Kamchatka Territory). Later she met Mikhail there, whom she married in 1985. Mikhail, a talented musician, performed in a vocal-instrumental ensemble. In the years that followed they had two children. All members of the Popov family love to relax together, play musical instruments, be out in nature and talk about spiritual topics.

In the mid-1990s, both Yelena and Mikhail became keenly interested in the teachings of the Bible and thereafter always sought to adhere to the Bible’s standards in their own behaviour and in their treatment of others. “Love and harmony should reign in all families around the world. This is what the Bible teaches and what my husband and I are striving for” says Yelena.

Yelena’s relatives and neighbours, even those who do not share her religious views, were very surprised to learn of the arrest. They wonder how the “extremist” article 282.2 can be applied to such a peace-loving and decent person.

9 April 2019

Елена Попова

ФИО:
Попова Елена Вячеславовна
Год рождения:
1963
Текущий статус в уголовном деле:
осужденный
Провел под стражей:
4 дня в ИВС (Камчатский кр.), 7 дней под домашним арестом

Биография

Елена Попова была арестована 30 июля 2018 года на Камчатке вместе со своим мужем Михаилом, провела несколько дней в изоляторе временного содержания и под домашним арестом. Обвиняется по ст. 282.2 (ч. 1, 1.1), связанной с «экстремистской деятельностью». Что о ней известно?

Елена родилась в 1963 году в г. Алексине (Тульская обл.). В детстве училась в музыкальной школе по классу фортепиано, увлекалась фотографией и шитьем одежды. В 1972 году вместе с родителями переехала в Вилючинск (Камчатский кр.). Позже встретила там Михаила, за которого вышла замуж в 1985 году. Михаил был талантливым музыкантом, выступал в вокально-инструментальном ансамбле. В последующие годы у них родилось двое детей. Все члены семьи Поповых любят вместе отдыхать, играть на музыкальных инструментах, бывать на природе и общаться на духовные темы.

В середине 1990-х годов и Елена, и Михаил живо заинтересовались учениями Библии и в дальнейшем всегда стремились придерживаться в своей жизни норм поведения и отношения к людям, которые она предписывает. «Любовь и гармония должны царить во всех семьях, по всему миру. Это то, чему учит Библия, и то, к чему стремимся мы с супругом», – говорит Елена.

Родственники и соседи Елены, даже не разделяющие ее религиозные взгляды, были очень удивлены, узнав об аресте. Они недоумевают, как можно применять «экстремистскую» статью 282.2 к такому миролюбивому и порядочному человеку.

Обновлено 17 февраля 2020 г.