Updated: February 22, 2024
Name: Petrenko Valeriy Grigoriyevich
Date of Birth: March 2, 1962
Current status: Suspect
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (2)

Biography

Valery Petrenko was born in the city of Berezniki, Perm Territory, in 1962. Since childhood he is fond of radio electronics, loves to fish, play the guitar and harmonica, as well as travel. After school, he entered the branch of the Perm Polytechnic Institute in Berezniki, received the specialty of an automation engineer. He worked as a locksmith and foreman in instrumentation and automation. He is now retired.

Valery met his future wife Galina before studying at the institute, in 1985 they got married. Galina worked as a computer operator, and later as a software engineer. The couple love to go fishing and pick mushrooms and berries. They have two sons who live separately but maintain a good relationship with their parents.

Since childhood, Valery wondered: what awaits after death? What is the "end of the world"? Starting to read the Bible, he found answers to all his questions, learned about Jesus Christ, his Father and what kind of future he had prepared for people. At that time, it was difficult for him to imagine that he would be overtaken by criminal prosecution for his faith.

The Petrenko family still feels the consequences of searches and interrogations. Valeriy's bank cards are blocked, so he cannot get an additional job, and Galina suffers from heart problems and needs constant medication.

Valeriy's family and friends know him as a peaceful and non-confrontational person, which completely contradicts the label of an extremist that has been hung on him. Valery decided not to devote his relatives to the details of the criminal prosecution. But, as one of his relatives once put it when he learned about the persecution of Jehovah's Witnesses: "I wish I had more such extremist relatives."

Case history

In September 2018, as part of the criminal case of Igor Turik, a search was conducted in the apartment and car of engineer Valery Petrenko. Less than two weeks later, a criminal case was opened against him. The investigation considered his participation in a worship service, at which he discussed the topic “What is God’s Kingdom,” to be extremism. During one of the interrogations, the believer learned that he was under covert audio and video surveillance.

Петренко Валерий

Valeriy Petrenko

Обновлено: 30 мая 2022 г.
ФИО: Петренко Валерий Григорьевич Petrenko, Valeriy Grigoriyevich
Год рождения: 1962
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: подозреваемый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (2)

Биография

Валерий Петренко родился в городе Березники Пермского края в 1962 году. С детства увлекается радиоэлектроникой, любит рыбачить, играть на гитаре и губной гармошке, а также путешествовать. После школы поступил в филиал Пермского политехнического института в Березниках, получил специальность инженера по автоматизации. Работал слесарем и мастером по контрольно-измерительным приборам и автоматике. Сейчас на пенсии.

Со своей будущей супругой Галиной Валерий познакомился еще до учебы в институте, в 1985 году они поженились. Галина работала оператором ЭВМ, а позднее инженером-программистом. Супруги любят ездить на рыбалку и собирать грибы и ягоды. У них двое сыновей, которые живут отдельно, но поддерживают с родителями хорошие отношения.

С детства Валерий задавался вопросом: что ждет после смерти? Что такое «конец света»? Начав читать Библию, нашел ответы на все волновавшие его вопросы, узнал об Иисусе Христе, его Отце и о том, какое будущее он приготовил людям. Тогда ему было трудно представить, что его настигнет уголовное преследование за веру.

Последствия обысков и допросов семья Петренко ощущает до сих пор. Банковские карты Валерия заблокированы, поэтому он не может устроиться на дополнительную работу, а Галина страдает от проблем с сердцем и нуждается в постоянном приеме лекарственных средств.

Родные и друзья Валерия знают его как мирного и неконфликтного человека, что полностью противоречит ярлыку экстремиста, который на него навесили. Своих родных Валерий решил не посвящать в подробности уголовного преследования. Но, как однажды выразился один из его родственников, узнав о гонениях на Свидетелей Иеговы: «Побольше бы мне таких родственников-экстремистов».

Краткая история дела

В сентябре 2018 года в рамках уголовного дела Игоря Турика прошел обыск в квартире и автомобиле инженера Валерия Петренко. Менее чем через две недели против него самого завели уголовное дело. Следствие посчитало экстремизмом его участие в богослужении, на котором он обсуждал тему «Что такое Царство Бога». На одном из допросов верующий узнал, что за ним велось скрытое аудио- и видеонаблюдение.