Updated: June 13, 2024
Name: Morozov Maksim Yevgeniyevich
Date of Birth: August 6, 1983
Current status: who has served the main sentence
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (2)
Time spent in prison: 1 day in a temporary detention facility, 739 day in a pre-trial detention
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 3 years with restriction of liberty for 6 months, release from punishment in the form of imprisonment in connection with the actual service

Biography

In August 2021, peaceful believer Maksim Morozov was sent to jail. For his religious beliefs, he was charged under an extremist article. In August 2023, the court sentenced him to 3 years in prison, which he considered served, and the believer was released.

Maksim was born in August 1983 in Volgograd. He has an older sister. As a child, the boy was interested in technology, especially the device of a bicycle, moped and car. He was also fond of swimming and baking.

After school, Maxim entered the Volgograd Medical and Environmental Technical School, where he received the specialty of a catering technologist. After that, he served in the army - in the parachute troops, participated in the second Chechen campaign. Then he was engaged in long-distance cargo transportation. In addition to his hometown, he lived in Mednogorsk and Tolyatti, as well as in the Leningrad region.

Maksim made a conscious decision to become one of Jehovah's Witnesses at the age of 26. His parents and sister share his views on life.

Maxim loves to travel, ski and bike. During the coronavirus pandemic, he had a new hobby — drawing.

Maksim's parents and relatives consider his criminal prosecution unjustified: "Such injustice discourages and knocks the ground out from under your feet."

Case History

In April 2021, the Investigative Committee initiated a criminal case against Yuriy Usanov. The next day, his house was searched, and then he was placed in a pre-trial detention center in the city of Anzhero-Sudzhensk. In August of the same year, Maksim Morozov was detained in the city of Tolyatti. He was later taken to the same pre-trial detention center. According to the investigation, the believers “organized the activities of a banned religious organization by means of the computer program  “Zoom” by convening and holding meetings of its members and holding conversations.” In September 2021, Yuriy Usanov registered a marriage with his fiancee Irina right in the pre-trial detention center. The case went to court in March 2022. The believers were taken to each meeting in a police van for seventy kilometers one way. In August 2023, the article of the charge was changed to participation in the activities of an extremist organization. Soon the Judge announced the verdict: three years in a penal colony, which she considered served and released the believers.

Обновлено: 1 марта 2024 г.
ФИО: Морозов Максим Евгеньевич
Дата рождения: 6 августа 1983 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (2)
Провел под стражей: 1 день в ИВС, 739 дней в СИЗО
Текущие ограничения: Подписка о невыезде
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы на срок 3 года с ограничением свободы на 6 месяцев, освободить от наказания в виде лишения свободы в связи с фактическим отбытием

Биография

В августе 2021 года мирный верующий Максим Морозов был отправлен за решетку. За свои религиозные убеждения он оказался обвиняемым по экстремистской статье. В августе 2023 года суд приговорил его к 3 годам колонии, которые счел отбытыми, и верующий вышел на свободу.

Максим родился в августе 1983 года в Волгограде. У него есть старшая сестра. В детстве мальчик интересовался техникой, особенно устройством велосипеда, мопеда и автомобиля. Также он увлекался плаванием и выпечкой.

После школы Максим поступил в Волгоградский медико-экологический техникум, где получил специальность технолога общественного питания. После этого он отслужил в армии — в парашютно-десантных войсках, участвовал во второй Чеченской кампании. Затем занимался междугородными грузоперевозками. Помимо родного города он проживал в Медногорске и Тольятти, а также в Ленинградской области.

Осознанное решение стать Свидетелем Иеговы Максим принял в возрасте 26 лет. Родители и сестра разделяют его взгляды на жизнь.

Максим любит путешествовать, кататься на горных лыжах и велосипеде. Во пандемии коронавируса у него появилось новое увлечение — рисование.

Родители и близкие Максима считают его уголовное преследование неоправданным: «Такая несправедливость обескураживает и выбивает почву из-под ног».

Краткая история дела

В апреле 2021 года Следственный комитет возбудил уголовное дело в отношении Юрия Усанова. На следующий день у него дома прошел обыск, и затем его поместили в СИЗО в Анжеро-Судженске. В августе того же года в Тольятти задержали Максима Морозова. Его позднее доставили в то же СИЗО. По мнению следствия, верующие «посредством компьютерной программы „Zoom“ организовали деятельность запрещенной религиозной организации путем созыва и проведения собраний ее членов, проведения бесед». В сентябре 2021 года Юрий Усанов прямо в СИЗО зарегистрировал брак со своей невестой Ириной. Дело поступило в суд в марте 2022 года. На каждое заседание верующих везли в автозаке по 70 км в одну сторону. В августе 2023 года статью обвинения изменили на участие в деятельности экстремистской организации. Вскоре судья огласила вердикт: по 3 года колонии общего режима, которые сочла отбытыми и отпустила верующих на свободу.