Updated: April 12, 2024
Name: Meleshko Vasiliy Vladimirovich
Date of Birth: January 30, 1961
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (2)
Time spent in prison: 57 day in a pre-trial detention, 919 day in prison
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 3 years without deprivation of the right to hold certain positions or engage in certain activities with serving a sentence in a correctional colony of general regime with restriction of liberty for a period of 1 year
Currently held in: Penal Colony No. 11 in Krasnodar Territory
Address for correspondence: Meleshko Vasiliy Vladimirovich, born 1961, IK No. 11 in Krasnodar Territory, ul. Azovskaya, 4, p. Akhtarskiy, Primorsko-Akhtarskiy r-n, Krasnodar Territory, Russia, 353892

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «FSIN-letter system». To pay for service with the card of a foreign bank use Prisonmail.

Parcels and parcels should not be sent because of the limit on their number per year.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

In the early April morning, security forces raided the house of civilians in the village of Kholmskaya, 60-year-old Vasiliy Meleshko and his wife. Vasiliy was informed that he was accused of extremism for talking about the Bible. In August 2021, in just two sessions, the court considered Meleshko's case and sentenced him to 3 years in prison.

Vasiliy was born in 1961 in the village of Mikhailovskiy (Krasnodar Territory). His father worked on a livestock farm, his mother — in the production of tobacco. In his youth, Vasiliy was fond of radio business. After school he graduated from courses in radio engineering, driver and crane operator. He lived in the villages of Ilskiy and Akhtyrskiy, Krasnodar Territory.

Vasiliy married Zoya in 1981. After about 8 years, the couple began to study the Bible. Zoya became a Christian in 1991. A year later, Vasiliy joined her. What impressed him most was the biblical teaching on the resurrection of the dead.

The spouses have grown-up children — a son and a daughter — who already have their own families. They, like their parents, love Bible truths and live by Christian standards. Family hobbies are fishing and walking in the woods.

Searches in the house of Vasiliy and Zoya and a sudden sentence shook the health of the spouses. Due to constant anxiety and stress, their sleep was disrupted and chronic diseases worsened.

Case History

In April 2021, the house of Vasiliy and Zoya Meleshko from the village of Kholmskaya was searched. A week earlier, the Investigative Department of the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation opened a criminal case against the believer for participating in extremist activities. The security forces interrogated Vasily, and also photographed him against the background of the former worship building and the house at the table in order to “film the crime scene.” In July 2021, Meleshko’s case was submitted to the district court. In just two sessions, Judge Mikhail Ostashevskiy considered the case and sentenced the believer to 3 years in a general regime colony. In October of the same year, the appeal upheld the verdict, and in December Meleshko arrived at the colony to serve his sentence. The Court of Cassation upheld the decisions of the lower courts in June 2022.

Мелешко Василий

Vasiliy Meleshko

Обновлено: 1 августа 2022 г.
ФИО: Мелешко Василий Владимирович Meleshko, Vasiliy Vladimirovich
Год рождения: 1961
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (2)
Под арестом с: 11 августа 2021 г.
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы сроком на 3 года без лишения права занимать определенные должности или заниматься определенной деятельностью с отбыванием наказания в исправительной колонии общего режима с ограничением свободы сроком на 1 год
Текущее местонахождение: филиал КБ № 2 при ИК № 1 по Республике Адыгея Branch of KB No. 2 of IK No. 1 in Republic of Adygeya
Адрес для корреспонденции: Мелешко Василию Владимировичу, 1961 г. р., филиал КБ № 2 при ИК № 1 по Республике Адыгея, ул. Ленина, 28, пгт. Тлюстенхабль, Республика Адыгея, 385228 Meleshko Vasiliy Vladimirovich, born 1961, Branch of KB No. 2 of IK No. 1 in Republic of Adygeya, ul. Lenina, 28, pgt. Tlyustenkhabl, Republic of Adygeya, Russia, 385228

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «ФСИН-письмо». Посылки и бандероли отправлять не следует из-за лимита на их количество в год.

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

Ранним апрельским утром силовики нагрянули с обыском в дом мирных жителей станицы Холмской 60-летнего Василия Мелéшко и его супруги. Василию сообщили о том, что за разговоры о Библии он обвиняется в экстремизме. В августе 2021 года всего за два заседания суд рассмотрел дело Мелешко и приговорил его к 3 годам колонии.

Василий родился в 1961 году в селе Михайловском (Краснодарский край). Отец работал на животноводческой ферме, мать — на производстве табака. В юности Василий увлекался радиоделом. После школы окончил курсы радиотехника, водителя и крановщика. Жил в поселках Ильский и Ахтырский Краснодарского края.

Василий женился на Зое в 1981 году. Примерно через 8 лет супруги начали исследовать Библию. Зоя стала христианкой в 1991 году. Через год к ней присоединился и Василий. По его словам, больше всего его впечатлило библейское учение о воскресении умерших.

У супругов есть взрослые дети — сын и дочь,— у которых уже свои семьи. Они, так же как и их родители, любят библейские истины и живут по христианским нормам. Семейное увлечение — рыбалка и прогулки по лесу.

Прошедшие в доме Мелешко обыски и внезапный приговор пошатнули здоровье супругов. Из-за постоянных беспокойств и пережитого стресса нарушился их сон и обострились хронические заболевания.

Краткая история дела

В апреле 2021 года в доме Василия и Зои Мелешко из станицы Холмской прошел обыск. Неделей ранее следственное управление СК РФ возбудило против верующего уголовное дело за участие в экстремистской деятельности. Силовики допросили Василия, а также сфотографировали его на фоне бывшего богослужебного здания и дома у стола, чтобы «заснять место преступления». В июле 2021 года дело Мелешко поступило в Абинский районный суд. Всего за два заседания судья Михаил Осташевский рассмотрел дело и 11 августа 2021 года приговорил верующего к 3 годам колонии общего режима. 4 октября того же года Краснодарский краевой суд утвердил приговор, оставив наказание без изменения, а в декабре Мелешко прибыл в колонию для отбывания наказания. Кассация утвердила решения нижестоящих судов в июне 2022 года.