Updated: March 2, 2024
Name: Karpushkina Maya Pavlovna
Date of Birth: March 19, 1949
Current status: Defendant
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (2)
Current restrictions: Recognizance agreement

Biography

On November 10, 2018, in Khabarovsk, 30 riot policemen broke into a café where a friendly party was taking place. After breaking down the doors, they staged hours of mass interrogation of those present, including minors, with the seizure of personal property and fingerprinting. Criminal cases were opened against several party participants in connection with their religion. Among them was Maya Karpushkina. What do we know about her?

Maya was born in 1949 in the village of Anuchino, Primorsky Krai. Her parents are no longer alive, but there is a sister who is 2 years younger. Maya grew up active and sociable, loved dancing and was engaged in an ensemble. She graduated from the Spassk Pedagogical School and received a specialty as a primary school teacher. After studying in the direction, she went to Khabarovsk and stayed to live in this city.

Almost all her life, Maya worked in her specialty. Recently, after retiring, she got a job as a salesman in a bread kiosk. She has a vegetable garden where she not only grows vegetables, but also enjoys planting flowers. He also helps with the upbringing of grandchildren and great-grandson. She has known her husband since school, he was her classmate. The family has three children: a son and two daughters. Now they have grown up and live separately with their families.

Maya is the only one in the family who takes the Bible and its commandments seriously. "I really liked that the people who talked to me on spiritual topics knew the Holy Scriptures well, and most importantly, they themselves adhered to the biblical teachings in their lives," Maya recalls. Having lived a decent life, she could never have imagined that she would be written down as an "extremist" simply because of her faith in God.

Case history

Khabarovsk civilians Nikolay Polevodov, Stanislav Kim, spouses Vitaliy and Tatyana Zhuk, Svetlana Sedova and Maya Karpushkina were under investigation after a riot police platoon broke into a friendly party in a café in November 2018. Three men were sent to a pre-trial detention center, and later under house arrest. As a result, the Investigative Committee charged six Jehovah’s Witnesses: men with organizing the activities of an extremist organization, and women with participating in it. The only reason is to believe in Jehovah God and discuss the Bible with friends. 14 months of trials and 20 sessions of the court of first instance revealed the groundlessness of the accusation, and the case was returned to the prosecutor’s office. In December 2021, it went to court again.

Обновлено: 31 декабря 2021 г.
ФИО: Карпушкина Майя Павловна Karpushkina, Maya Pavlovna
Год рождения: 1949
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: подсудимая
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (2)
Текущая мера пресечения: Подписка о невыезде

Биография

10 ноября 2018 года в Хабаровске 30 бойцов ОМОН ворвались в кафе, где проходила дружеская вечеринка. Сломав двери, они устроили многочасовой массовый допрос присутствующих, включая несовершеннолетних, с изъятием личного имущества и снятием отпечатков пальцев. Против нескольких участников вечеринки были заведены уголовные дела в связи с их вероисповеданием. В их числе оказалась Майя Карпушкина. Что мы о ней знаем?

Майя родилась в 1949 году в селе Анучино Приморского края. Ее родителей уже нет в живых, но есть сестра, которая младше на 2 года. Майя росла активной и общительной, любила танцы и занималась в ансамбле. Окончила Спасское педагогическое училище и получила специальность преподаватель начальных классов. После учебы по направлению уехала в Хабаровск и осталась жить в этом городе.

Почти всю жизнь Майя работала по специальности. В последнее время, выйдя на пенсию, устроилась продавцом в хлебном киоске. У нее есть огород, где она не только выращивает овощи, но и с удовольствием занимается разведением цветов. А еще помогает с воспитанием внуков и правнука. С мужем знакома еще со школьной скамьи, он был ее одноклассником. В семье трое детей: сын и две дочери. Сейчас они выросли и живут со своими семьями отдельно.

Майя — единственная в семье, кто серьезно относится к Библии и ее заповедям. «Мне очень понравилось, что люди, которые общались со мной на духовные темы, хорошо знали Священное Писание, а главное, сами придерживались библейских учений в своей жизни», — вспоминает Майя. Прожив достойную жизнь, она никогда не могла представить, что ее запишут в «экстремисты» просто из-за веры в Бога.

Краткая история дела

Мирные жители Хабаровска Николай Полеводов, Станислав Ким, супруги Виталий и Татьяна Жук, Светлана Седова и Майя Карпушкина оказались под следствием после того, как в ноябре 2018 года взвод ОМОН ворвался на дружескую вечеринку в кафе. Троих мужчин отправили в СИЗО, а позднее под домашний арест. В итоге СК предъявил шестерым Свидетелям Иеговы обвинение: мужчинам в организации деятельности экстремистской организации, а женщинам — в участии в ней. Единственная причина — вера в Бога Иегову и обсуждение Библии в кругу друзей. 14 месяцев судебных разбирательств и 20 заседаний суда первой инстанции выявили безосновательность обвинения, и дело было возвращено в прокуратуру. В декабре 2021 года оно вновь поступило в суд.