Updated: April 19, 2024
Name: Gromov Sergey Viktorovich
Date of Birth: June 5, 1969
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Time spent in prison: 2 day in a temporary detention facility, 695 day in a pre-trial detention, 70 day in prison
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 6 years and 1 month with serving in a correctional colony of general regime, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of public organizations for a period of 5 years, with restriction of liberty for a period of 1 year
Currently held in: Penal Colony No. 8 in Republic of Tatarstan
Address for correspondence: Gromov Sergey Viktorovich, born 1969, IK No. 8 in Republic of Tatarstan, ul. Bazovaya, 26, g. Almetyevsk, Repulic of Tatarstan, Russia, 423455

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «zonatelecom».

Parcels and parcels should not be sent because of the limit on their number per year.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

Sergey Gromov from Kazan learned that a criminal case had been opened against him when, in March 2022, he and his wife were unexpectedly detained by law enforcement officers at a Moscow airport.

Sergey was born in 1969 in Kazan, he has a twin brother. Parents divorced early, and their grandmother was engaged in raising the boys. In his youth, Sergey became interested in playing the guitar, composing poetry and music. He graduated from a vocational technical school with a degree in graphic design, worked in a framing workshop.

In 1990, Sergey married Elena. She is a physician by education and worked in surgery. The couple raised a son and a daughter. They like to do household chores together, relax, receive guests. In 1994, they also decided to study the Bible together. At that time, Sergei did not believe in God, because, as he said, he had never seen him. But after examining the scientific and biblical evidence for the existence of a loving Creator, he became a believer. The couple instilled a love for the Bible in their children. The spiritual interests of the family are shared by Elena's 89-year-old mother.

Music is still an integral part of Sergey's life: he plays the guitar and often sings with family and friends. He also studies the Georgian language and draws. Together with his family, Sergey loves to be in nature.

Criminal prosecution has become stressful for the whole family. Relatives who do not share Sergey's religious views wonder why such a benevolent and peace-loving person is accused of extremism. In their opinion, he would never have done anything extremist because of his beliefs based on the Holy Scriptures.

Case History

In March 2022, FSB officers detained Sergey and Yelena Gromova from Kazan at Moscow’s Vnukovo airport. As it turned out, on the same day, an FSB investigator opened a criminal case against Sergey, who professes the religion of Jehovah’s Witnesses, for organizing the activities of an extremist organization. Two secret witnesses participated in the case, one of whom was an FSB officer. The believer was arrested and placed in a temporary detention facility, and 2 days later in a pre-trial detention center. Searches were carried out in the apartment of the Gromovs and at two other addresses. Later, the man was suspected of violating another article of the Criminal Code—on the financing of extremist activities. In February 2023, the case went to court, and in September of the same year, Gromov was convicted: 6 years and 1 month in a penal colony. In January 2024, the appeal upheld this decision.

Обновлено: 28 мая 2024 г.
ФИО: Громов Сергей Викторович
Дата рождения: 5 июня 1969 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Провел под стражей: 2 дня в ИВС, 695 дней в СИЗО, 109 дней в колонии
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы сроком на 6 лет 1 месяца с отбыванием в исправительной колонии общего режима, с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с руководством и участием в работе общественных организаций, сроком на 5 лет, с ограничением свободы сроком на 1 год
Текущее местонахождение: исправительная колония № 8 по Республике Татарстан
Адрес для корреспонденции: Громову Сергею Викторовичу, 1969 г. р., ИК-8 по Республике Татарстан, ул. Базовая, 26, г. Альметьевск, Республика Татарстан, 423455

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «zonatelecom».

Посылки и бандероли отправлять не следует из-за лимита на их количество в год.

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

Сергей Громов из Казани узнал, что против него возбуждено уголовное дело, когда в марте 2022 года правоохранители неожиданно задержали его с супругой в московском аэропорту. В квартире Громовых провели обыск, главу семьи отправили за решетку, где он находился вплоть до приговора в феврале 2023 года. Вердикт судьи был суровым — 6 лет и 1 месяц колонии.

Сергей родился в 1969 году в Казани, у него есть брат-близнец. Родители рано развелись, и воспитанием мальчиков занималась бабушка. В юности Сергей увлекся игрой на гитаре, сочинял стихи и музыку. Он окончил профессиональное техническое училище по специальности «художник-оформитель», работал в багетной мастерской.

В 1990 году Сергей женился на Елене. По образованию она медик, работала в хирургии. Супруги вырастили сына и дочь. Им нравится вместе заниматься домашними делами, отдыхать, принимать гостей. В 1994 году они — также вместе — решили изучать Библию. На тот момент Сергей не верил в Бога, потому что, как он говорил, никогда его не видел. Но исследовав научные и библейские доказательства существования любящего Творца, он стал верующим человеком. Любовь к Библии супруги привили и своим детям.

Музыка по-прежнему является неотъемлемой частью жизни Сергея: он играет на гитаре и часто поет в кругу семьи и друзей. Также он изучает грузинский язык и рисует. Вместе с родными Сергей любит бывать на природе.

Уголовное преследование стало стрессом для всей семьи. Родственники, не разделяющие религиозных взглядов Сергея, недоумевают, как такого доброжелательного и миролюбивого человека могли обвинить в экстремизме. По их мнению, он никогда бы не совершил ничего экстремистского в силу своих убеждений, основанных на Священном Писании.

Краткая история дела

В марте 2022 года в московском аэропорту Внуково сотрудники ФСБ задержали Сергея и Елену Громовых из Казани. Как выяснилось, в тот же день против Сергея, исповедующего религию Свидетелей Иеговы, следователь ФСБ возбудил уголовное дело об организации деятельности экстремистской организации. В деле участвовали два секретных свидетеля, один из которых — сотрудник ФСБ. Верующего арестовали и поместили в ИВС, а через 2 дня — в СИЗО. В квартире Громовых и еще по двум адресам прошли обыски. Позже мужчину заподозрили в нарушении еще одной статьи Уголовного кодекса — о финансировании экстремистской деятельности. В феврале 2023 года дело поступило в суд, а в сентябре того же года Громову был вынесен обвинительный приговор: 6 лет 1 месяца колонии общего режима. В январе 2024 года апелляция утвердила это решение.