Updated: April 19, 2024
Name: Gevorkyan Gevorg Surenovich
Date of Birth: February 18, 1971
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Current restrictions: Suspended sentence
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 6 years, with deprivation of the right to engage in organizational activities in public and religious organizations for a term of 5 years, with restriction of liberty for a term of 1 year, a sentence of imprisonment shall be considered suspended with a probationary period of 4 years

Biography

Since July 2019, Gevorg Gevorkyan has been under the close supervision of law enforcement officers. He recalls how it started: "Early in the morning they searched our apartment, then they took my wife and me away and interrogated us until the evening. In the evening we were searched again. After that, I was summoned for interrogations for two years, my criminal status and preventive measures were changed."

Gevorg was born in February 1971 in Tkvarcheli (Abkhazia). He has a younger brother and sister. His father took care of the family, working as an engineer and plumber. His mother made custom-made clothes at home. The parents raised their children in an atmosphere of peace and love.

When Gevorg was 15 years old, the family left for Tbilisi (Georgia). There they lived in rented apartments. The children had to change schools frequently, so it was difficult for them to make friends. When Gevorg returned from the army, a military conflict broke out in the area where his family lived. Parents, wanting to protect their children, decided to emigrate to another country.

During this period Gevorg accidentally got hold of a religious book, which prompted him to think about the origin of life. He began to study the Bible and found in it evidence for the existence of God. Later he was joined by his family in his study of the Holy Scriptures. In 1996 Gevorg stood on the Christian path.

Around the same time Gevorg met Yana, who later became his wife. The couple have been married for over 25 years. Gevorg said: "We have always maintained peace, happiness and love in the family. This has been possible thanks to the wise and solid principles from God's Word that we have tried to apply in our lives. I also always had the example of my dear parents in front of me."

Several years ago the couple moved to Nizhniy Novgorod to take care of Yana's elderly mother. Gevorg got a job at a factory as a forklift driver to provide for his family. To their surprise, in this city they encountered criminal persecution for their faith, which disrupted the peace and tranquility of the believer and his family members.

Case History

In the summer of 2019, Gevorg Gevorgyan, a resident of Nizhny Novgorod, was searched and interrogated and was named as a witness in the case of Malyanov and four other believers. After 2.5 years, his criminal case was separated into a separate proceeding. Gevorkyan was accused of extremism only because of his religion. In August 2021, he was placed on recognizance not to leave. In December 2021, the case went to court. At the first court hearing, the lawyer found a new document arbitrarily added to the case file. The judge returned the case to the prosecutor. In July 2022, a retrial of the case by another judge began. In January 2023, he sentenced Gevorgyan to 6 years probation. The appellate court upheld the verdict.

Обновлено: 28 июля 2022 г.
ФИО: Геворкян Геворг Суренович Gevorkyan, Gevorg Surenovich
Год рождения: 1971
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: подсудимый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Текущая мера пресечения: Подписка о невыезде

Биография

С июля 2019 года Гево́рг Геворкя́н находится под пристальным наблюдением правоохранителей. Он вспоминает, как все началось: «Рано утром провели обыск у нас в квартире, потом забрали нас с женой и до вечера допрашивали. Вечером нас снова обыскали. После этого меня в течение двух лет вызывали на допросы, меняли уголовный статус и меры пресечения».

Геворг родился в феврале 1971 года в городе Ткварчели (Абхазия). У него есть младшие брат и сестра. Отец заботился о семье, работая инженером-сантехником. Мать на заказ шила одежду на дому. Родители растили детей в атмосфере мира и любви.

Когда Геворгу было 15 лет, семья уехала в Тбилиси (Грузия). Там они жили на съемных квартирах. Детям приходилось часто менять школы, поэтому им было трудно заводить друзей. Когда Геворг вернулся из армии, в той местности, где жила его семья, начался военный конфликт. Родители, желая уберечь детей, решили эмигрировать в другую страну.

В этот период Геворгу в руки случайно попала религиозная книга, которая побудила его задуматься о возникновении жизни. Он начал изучать Библию и нашел в ней доказательства существования Бога. Позднее в исследовании Священного Писания к нему присоединились родные. В 1996 году Геворг встал на христианский путь.

Приблизительно в то же время Геворг познакомился с Яной, которая впоследствии стала его женой. Супруги в браке уже более 25 лет. Геворг рассказал: «У нас всегда сохранялся мир, счастье и любовь в семье. Это стало возможно благодаря мудрым и надежным принципам из Слова Бога, которые мы старались применять в нашей жизни. Также у меня перед глазами всегда был пример моих дорогих родителей».

Несколько лет назад супруги переехали в Нижний Новгород, чтобы заботиться о пожилой матери Яны. Геворг устроился на завод водителем погрузчика, чтобы обеспечивать семью. К своему удивлению, в этом городе они столкнулись с уголовным преследованием за веру, которое нарушило мир и спокойствие верующего и членов его семьи.

Краткая история дела

Летом 2019 года Геворг Геворкян, житель Нижнего Новгорода, подвергся обыску и допросу и был привлечен в качестве свидетеля по делу Малянова и других четверых верующих. Спустя 2,5 года его уголовное дело было выделено в отдельное производство. Геворкяна обвинили в экстремизме только из-за вероисповедания. В августе 2021 года его поместили под подписку о невыезде. В декабре 2021 года дело было передано в Автозаводский районный суд Нижнего Новгорода и назначено судье Евгению Терехову. На первом судебном заседании адвокат обнаружил в материалах дела самовольно добавленный новый документ. Судья вернул дело прокурору. В июле 2022 года дело вновь поступило в суд. Его начал рассматривать судья Максим Сироткин.