Updated: June 24, 2024
Name: Suvorkov Yevgeniy Anatolyevich
Date of Birth: February 3, 1978
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Time spent in prison: 2 day in a temporary detention facility, 173 day in a pre-trial detention, 181 day Under house arrest
Current restrictions: suspended sentence
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 6 years 3 months, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of public and religious organizations for 2 years, with restriction of liberty for 1 year, the main punishment is considered suspended with a probationary period of 4 years

Biography

Yevgeniy Suvorkov is one of the Kirov civilians detained after the raid on believers in 2018.

Yevgeniy was born in 1978 in the village of Kumeny (Kirov region) in a large family. Parents worked on the collective farm, they had two sons and three daughters. As a child, Yevgeniy was engaged in chess, hockey, radio engineering, and music. Later, his family moved to the regional center, where he lives to this day. Yevgeniy chose the profession of an electrician after graduating from a technical school.

Yevgeniy is married to Svetlana, who has an adult son from her first marriage. Andrey is a defendant in the same criminal case for believing in God.

In his youth, Yevgeniy became interested in biblical teachings. Therefore, when the draft age came, he asked to replace his military service with an alternative civilian one, in accordance with the Constitution of the Russian Federation. He was able to win lengthy litigation with the draft board.

Yevgeniy went through the courts, defending his right not to take up arms, and since 2021 he had to end up in the dock again—this time to prove that he is not an extremist.

Yevgeniy worked at various enterprises in the city. He said: “Everything I have learned from Jehovah's Witnesses helps me in my family life and in my business life. Working in various fields, from building factories to cleaning companies, I have become convinced that a reputation as a servant of God helps to avoid misunderstandings and conflicts”.

Case History

In October 2018, searches of believers were carried out in Kirov. A criminal case under extremist articles was initiated against seven local residents, five of them were taken into custody, including Polish citizen Andrzej Oniszczuk, who had been in captivity for almost a year. His fellow believers spent 3 to 11 months in jail and another 6 to 9 months under house arrest. The men were included in the Rosfinmonitoring list. One of the accused, Yuriy Geraskov, died of a long illness a week before the trial. In January 2021, court hearings began. In June 2022, the believers were given suspended sentences ranging from 2.5 to 6.5 years. Yuriy Geraskov was also found guilty of extremism, but the criminal case was dismissed due to his death. The appellate court upheld the verdict against the believers.

Суворков Евгений

Yevgeniy Suvorkov

Обновлено: 2 ноября 2022 г.
ФИО: Суворков Евгений Анатольевич Suvorkov, Yevgeniy Anatolyevich days under house arrest the Kirov Region, 181 days under house arrest
Год рождения: 1978
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Провел под стражей: 2 дня в ИВС, 173 дня в СИЗО, 181 день под домашним арестом 2 days in temporary holding facility, 173 days in detention center, 181 days under house arrest
Текущая мера пресечения: Условное наказание
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы сроком 6 лет 3 месяца, с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с руководством и участием в работе общественных и религиозных организаций на 2 года, с ограничением свободы на 1 год, основное наказание считать условным с испытательным сроком 4 года

Биография

Евгений Суворков — один из мирных жителей Кирова, задержанных после облавы на верующих в 2018 году.

Евгений родился в 1978 году в поселке Кумёны (Кировская область) в многодетной семье. Родители работали в колхозе, у них было два сына и три дочери. В детстве Евгений занимался шахматами, хоккеем, радиотехникой, музыкой. Позже его семья переехала в областной центр, где живет по сей день. Евгений выбрал профессию электромонтера, закончив техникум.

Евгений женат на Светлане, у которой есть взрослый сын от первого брака. Андрей является фигурантом того же уголовного дела за веру в Бога.

В юности Евгений заинтересовался библейскими учениями. Поэтому, когда наступил призывной возраст, он попросил заменить ему военную службу на альтернативную гражданскую, согласно Конституции РФ. Он смог выиграть длительные тяжбы с военкоматом.

Евгений прошел через суды, отстаивая свое право не брать в руки оружие, и с 2021 года ему пришлось снова оказаться на скамье подсудимых — на этот раз, чтобы доказать, что он не экстремист.

Евгений работал на разных предприятиях города. Он отметил: «Все, чему я научился у Свидетелей Иеговы, помогает мне в семейной жизни и в деловой сфере. Работая в разных областях, от строительства заводов до клининговых компаний, я убедился, что репутация служителя Бога помогает избегать недопонимания и конфликтов».

Краткая история дела

В октябре 2018 года в Кирове прошли обыски у верующих. Уголовное дело по экстремистским статьям было возбуждено против семи местных жителей, из них пять были заключены под стражу, в том числе гражданин Польши Анджей Онищук, который пробыл в неволе почти год. Его единоверцы провели от 3 до 11 месяцев в СИЗО и еще от 6 до 9 месяцев под домашним арестом. Мужчины были внесены в список Росфинмониторинга. Один из обвиняемых, Юрий Гераськов, за неделю до суда скончался от продолжительной болезни. В январе 2021 года начались слушания в суде. В июне 2022 года верующие были осуждены условно на сроки от 2,5 до 6,5 лет. Юрий Гераськов также был признан виновным в экстремизме, но уголовное дело прекратили в связи с его смертью. Апелляция утвердила приговор верующим.