Updated: June 24, 2024
Name: Egozaryan Igor Artemovich
Date of Birth: January 17, 1965
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 2 day in a temporary detention facility, 398 day in a pre-trial detention, 830 day in prison
Sentence: punishment in the form of 6 years of imprisonment with serving the sentence in a correctional colony of general regime; with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of public religious organizations for a period of 4 years; with restriction of liberty for a period of 1 year
Currently held in: Penal Colony No 6 in Udmurtia Republic
Address for correspondence: Egozaryan, Igor Artemovich, born 1965, IK No 6 in Udmurtia Republic, ul. Zavodskaya, 2a, stantsiya Lyuga, Mozhginsky region, Udmurtia Republic, Russia 427750

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «zonatelecom».

Parcels and parcels should not be sent because of the limit on their number per year.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

In September 2021, a court in Volgograd sentenced four civilians to real prison terms for believing in Jehovah God. One of them is Igor Egozaryan.

Igor was born in 1965 in Volgograd in a simple working-class family. He has a younger sister. As a child, he was fond of music, independently mastered the guitar and performed in an amateur music group at school evenings. After graduating from school, he worked as a shoemaker, builder and electrician.

In the early 1990s, thanks to his mother, Igor first became acquainted with the teachings of the Bible. He was struck by its logic and simplicity.

Igor's relatives are outraged by the unfair sentence passed on him only because of his religious views. Igor's mother, who is already over 80, is especially worried. When the believer was thrown behind bars, the elderly woman lost the much-needed support of her son.

Case History

In the spring of 2019, the Investigative Committee initiated a criminal case against believers from Volgograd. Sergey Melnik, Igor Egozaryan, Valeriy Rogozin and Denis Peresunko were accused of organizing an extremist organization, and the latter two were also accused of financing it. They spent 5 to 7 months in the detention center. Lawyers drew the attention of Judge Irina Struk to numerous violations by the investigation. Some witnesses stated that their testimonies were falsified. Secret witnesses were interrogated incognito — according to them, they feared for their lives and health. In September 2021, the court sentenced four believers to prison terms ranging from 6 years to 6 years and 5 months. In March 2022, a court of appeal upheld the verdict. In August of the same year, Igor Egozaryan, Denis Peresunko and Valeriy Rogozin were taken 1,200 km from their home to correctional colony No. 6 in the Republic of Udmurtia, and Sergey Melnik was later transferred to correctional colony No. 5 in the Kirov Region.

Обновлено: 18 августа 2022 г.
ФИО: Егозарян Игорь Артемович Egozaryan, Igor Artemovich
Год рождения: 1965
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей: Провел под стражей: 3 дня в ИВС, 223 дня в СИЗО № 1 по Волгоградской области, повторно помещен в СИЗО 23 сентября 2021 года, после вступления приговора в силу доставлен в колонию для отбывания наказания 3 days in temporary holding facility, 223 days in Detention Centre No. 1 for the Volgograd Region
Под арестом с: 23 сентября 2021 г.
Текущая мера пресечения: Следственный изолятор
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы, сроком 6 лет с отбыванием наказания в исправительной колонии общего режима; с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с руководством и участием в работе общественных религиозных организаций, сроком 4 года; с ограничением свободы, сроком 1 год
Текущее местонахождение: Исправительная колония № 6 по Республике Удмуртия, ул. Заводская, д. 2А, станция Люга, Можгинский район, Республика Удмуртия, 427750 Penal Colony No 6 in Udmurtia Republic
Адрес для корреспонденции: Егозаряну Игорю Артемовичу, 1965 г. р., ИК № 6 по Республике Удмуртия, ул. Заводская, д. 2А, станция Люга, Можгинский район, Республика Удмуртия, 427750 Egozaryan, Igor Artemovich, born 1965, IK No 6 in Udmurtia Republic, ul. Zavodskaya, 2a, stantsiya Lyuga, Mozhginsky region, Udmurtia Republic, Russia 427750

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «ФСИН-письмо».

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

В сентябре 2021 года суд в Волгограде приговорил четырех мирных горожан к реальным тюремным срокам за веру в Бога Иегову. Один из них — Игорь Егозарян.

Игорь родился в 1965 году в Волгограде в простой рабочей семье. У него есть младшая сестра. В детстве увлекался музыкой, самостоятельно освоил гитару и выступал в любительской музыкальной группе на школьных вечерах. После окончаниях школы работал сапожником, строителем и электриком.

В начале 1990-х годов благодаря маме Игорь впервые услышал благую весть из Библии. Он был поражен ее логичностью и простотой. В 2002 году женился на Евгении, парикмахере по профессии. В свободное время Евгения занимается созданием красивых предметов интерьера своими руками. Супруги воспитывают сына, который учится в колледже, имеет хорошие отзывы от преподавателей.

Вся семья Игоря возмущена из-за несправедливого приговора, вынесенного ему только из-за религиозных взглядов. Особенно переживает мама Игоря, которой уже за 80. Когда верующего бросили за решетку, пожилая женщина лишилась столь необходимой ей поддержки сына.

Краткая история дела

Весной 2019 года Следственный комитет возбудил уголовное дело в отношении волгоградских верующих. Сергея Мельника, Игоря Егозаряна, Валерия Рогозина и Дениса Пересунько обвинили в организации экстремисткой организации, а двух последних — еще и в ее финансировании. Они провели в СИЗО 5–7 месяцев. Адвокаты обратили внимание судьи Ирины Струк на многочисленные нарушения со стороны следствия. Некоторые свидетели заявили, что их показания были сфальсифицированы. Тайные свидетели были допрошены инкогнито — якобы рассекречивание было опасно для их жизни и здоровья, но подтверждений этому не приводилось. В сентябре 2021 года суд приговорил 4 верующих к срокам заключения от 6 лет до 6 лет и 5 месяцев. Верующие подали апелляцию. В марте 2022 года апелляционный суд оставил приговор без изменений. В августе того же года Игорь Егозарян, Денис Пересунько и Валерий Рогозин были доставлены за 1200 км от дома в исправительную колонию № 6 по Республике Удмуртия.