Updated: June 14, 2024
Name: Avanesov Arsen Vilenovich
Date of Birth: September 24, 1983
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Time spent in prison: 4 day in a temporary detention facility, 925 day in a pre-trial detention, 922 day in prison
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 7 years in a correctional colony of general regime, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to participation in public organizations for a period of 5 years and with restriction of liberty for a period of 1 year
Currently held in: Penal Colony No. 3 in Ulyanovsk Region
Address for correspondence: Avanesov Arsen Vilenovich, born 1983, IK No. 3 in Ulyanovsk Region, ul. Osypenko, 22, g. Dimitrovgrad, Ulyanovsk Region, Russia, 433502

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «FSIN-letter system». To pay for service with the card of a foreign bank use Prisonmail.

Parcels and parcels should not be sent because of the limit on their number per year.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

In July 2021, the court sentenced Arsen Avanesov to 6.5 years in prison for believing in Jehovah God, and his elderly father Vilen — to 6 years in prison. The believers were found guilty of extremism because they read and discussed the Bible with friends.

Arsen was born in 1983 in Baku (Azerbaijan). He has an elder sister Elina. As a child, Arsen played rugby. After school, he graduated from the Don State Technical University with a degree in engineering in biomedical practice, but worked mainly in the construction professions. In the late 1980s, his family moved first to Armenia and then to Russia, where they settled in Rostov-on-Don.

Arsen is fond of foreign languages, studying English and French. Thanks to my parents, I got acquainted with the Bible, from which he draws guidance for everyday life.

Those close to Arsen and Vilen believe that they were condemned unfairly, since the believers did not actually commit any crime. Arsen was the main breadwinner of the family, his parents are pensioners. Arsen's mother has been deprived of the necessary support since the arrest of both men in May 2019.

Case History

Searches, arrests, humiliation and intimidation. In May 2019, Aleksandr Parkov, Vilen and Arsen Avanesov from Rostov were detained by officers of the Investigative Committee for allegedly continuing the activities of the banned organization of Jehovah’s Witnesses. They were placed in a pre-trial detention center, where they spent 925 days. The accusation of believers was based on falsifications and testimonies of a provocateur recruited by the FSB. In July 2021, the court sentenced Vilen to 6 years in prison, and Aleksandr and Arsen to 6.5 years. The Court of Appeal and Cassation upheld this decision. Arsen was charged with another article - sponsoring the activities of an extremist organization, and his sentence was increased to 7 years. In February 2024, Vilen Avanesov was released, having served his term in full.

Эта страница переведена с помощью машинного перевода. Машинный перевод этой страницы отключен.

Аванесов Арсен
Arsen Avanesov

ФИО:
Аванесов Арсен Виленович
Avanesov, Arsen Vilenovich
Год рождения:
1983
Текущий статус в уголовном деле:
осужденный
Статьи УК РФ:
282.2 (1)
Под арестом с:
22 мая 2019 г.
Приговор:
наказание в виде лишения свободы сроком на 6 лет 6 месяцев в исправительной колонии общего режима, с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с участием в общественных организациях сроком на 5 лет и с ограничением свободы сроком на 1 год
Текущее местонахождение:
Исправительная колония №3 по Ульяновской области
Penal Colony No. 3 in Ulyanovsk Region
Адрес для корреспонденции:
Аванесову Арсену Виленовичу, 1983 г. р., ИК №3 по Ульяновской области, ул. Осипенко, 22, г. Димитровград, Ульяновская область, 433510
Avanesov Arsen Vilenovich, born 1983, IK No 3 in Ulyanovsk Region, ul. Osypenko, 22, g. Dimitrovgrad, Ulyanovsk Region, Russia 433510

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой. Посылки и бандероли отправлять не следует из-за лимита на их количество в год.

(Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.)

Обновлено 21 января 2022 г.

Биография

В июле 2021 года суд приговорил Арсена Аванесова к 6,5 годам колонии за веру в Бога Иегову, а его пожилого отца Вилена — к 6 годам тюрьмы. Верующих признали виновными в экстремизме из-за того, что они вместе с друзьями читали и обсуждали Библию.

Арсен родился в 1983 года в Баку (Азербайджан). У него есть старшая сестра Элина. В детстве Арсен занимался регби. После школы он окончил Донской государственный технический университет по специальности «инженерное дело в медико-биологической практике», но работал преимущественно по строительным профессиям. В конце 1980-х годов его семья переехала сначала в Армению, а затем в Россию, где обосновалась в Ростове-на-Дону.

Арсен увлекается иностранными языками, изучает английский и французский. Благодаря родителям познакомился с Библией, из которой черпает руководство для повседневной жизни.

Близкие Арсена и Вилена считают, что их осудили несправедливо, так как никакого преступления верующие в действительности не совершили. Арсен был основным кормильцем семьи, его родители — пенсионеры. Мать Арсена после ареста обоих мужчин в мае 2019 года лишена необходимой поддержки.

Краткая история дела

Обыски, арест, унижение и запугивание — то, с чем пришлось столкнуться Вилену и Арсену Аванесовым (отцу и сыну), а также Александру Парков за свою веру в Бога. В мае 2019 года этих мирных ростовчан задержали сотрудники СК: верующие якобы продолжали деятельность запрещенной местной организации Свидетелей Иеговы. Их поместили в СИЗО и так и не выпустили из-под стражи, хотя в условиях пандемии Александр и Вилен находились в группе риска. Обвинение верующих строилось на фальсификациях, а также показаниях завербованного ФСБ провокатора. Однако на суде он признал, что призывов к экстремизму от подсудимых не слышал. Прокурор запросил для Арсена 7,5 лет лишения свободы, а для Вилена и Александра — по 7 лет. 29 июля 2021 года судья Владимир Худавердян приговорил Александра и Арсена к 6,5, а Вилена — к 6 годам колонии. Апелляция оставила это решение без изменений.