Belousov's case in Seversk

Case history

For several months, intelligence agent Kira Klisheva, who portrayed an interest in the Bible, kept covert video recordings of Jehovah’s Witnesses worship services in Seversk. She transmitted the data to the FSB. In July 2020, employees of the Investigative Committee invaded with a search of a peaceful family man Sergey Belousov. In March 2021, the Investigation Department for the Closed Administrative Territory of Seversk opened a criminal case against the believer, separating him from the case of Yevgeny Korotun. Belousov was accused of extremism, which, according to the investigation, was expressed in participation in worship services, the performance of religious songs and prayers. In July 2021, the case was submitted to the Seversky City Court of the Tomsk Region. It was considered by judge Ekaterina Soldatenko. On April 14, 2022, Belousov was sentenced to 3 years of probation with restriction of liberty for 1 year. In June 2022, the appellate court upheld this decision.

  • #
    July 14, 2020

    At the same time, at about 9 a.m., officers of the Investigative Committee and the FSB invaded the homes of Sergey Belousov, Andrey Kolesnichenko, Andrey Ledyaykin, Alexei Ershov and Yevgeny Korotun. 50-year-old Kolesnichenko and 31-year-old Ledyaikin are detained by FSB officers at work, after which searches are conducted at their homes. The search of 67-year-old Aleksey Ershov lasts about 5 hours. His wife is not allowed into the apartment, but later taken for interrogation with her husband and daughter.

    One of the believers later said: "We opened the door because it was almost broken down. About 10 people entered the apartment and began to search. My son and I were kept in a stairwell for several hours. The neighbors took out a chair and some food." Lieutenant Sergey Mamontov, senior investigator of the investigation department for the Leninsky district of Tomsk, asks Kolesnichenko why he "does not attend the Orthodox or Catholic Church."

    Law enforcement officers confiscate electronic devices, various editions of the Bible, notebooks, Wi-Fi routers, video cameras, photos, postcards, bank cards, foreign passports and even volumes of Victor Hugo and Leo Tolstoy from believers.

  • #
    March 25, 2021

    The Investigation Department for Seversk of the Investigative Committee of the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation for the Tomsk Region is initiating a criminal case under Part 2 of Article 282.2 of the Criminal Code against 43-year-old Sergey Belousov. The criminal case was separated from the case against Yevgeny Korotun.

  • #
    March 30, 2021

    The believer is formally charged on the basis of video recordings of worship services made by K. E. Klisheva from her home computer. The woman pretended to be interested in the Bible for about a year, collaborating with the FSB.

    Sergey Belousov is accused of taking part in ... religious worship", as well as in "singing songs" and "prayers to Jehovah God" (from the indictment).

  • #
    June 22, 2021

    The criminal case of Sergey Belousov is submitted to the Seversky City Court of the Tomsk Region, it will be considered by Judge Ekaterina Soldatenko.

  • #
    July 13, 2021 Hearing in a court of the first instance

    Hearings begin in the Seversky City Court of the Tomsk Region. Only Sergey Belousov's wife and daughter are allowed into the hall as listeners.

    The prosecutor reads out the indictment. The defendant expresses his disagreement with the charges against him.

    The judge refuses to read out the written testimony of the prosecution witness to the prosecutor and asks him to be summoned to the next hearing.

  • #
    December 10, 2021

    The prosecutor finishes reading 6 volumes of the case. Among the materials are biblical speeches and articles on the topics: "Conquer evil with good", "Take your eyes away from the unworthy", "You can become a support for others" and "Love strengthens".

  • #
    January 14, 2022

    Despite the severe frost, 18 people come to the courthouse to support the defendant.

    The court reads out Belousov's characteristics from the place of work, from neighbors, as well as letters of thanks from the school for the good upbringing of his daughter.

    A defense witness who has known the defendant for more than 10 years is being interrogated. He notes: "Sergey is a respectable, modest, educated person, ready to support in difficult times. A friend, in short. You can always talk to him about something, on any topic. Fun enough."

  • #
    January 20, 2022 Hearing in a court of the first instance

    During the court hearing, despite the objection of the prosecutor Sidorenko, Judge Ekaterina Soldatenko agrees to view a fragment of the videoconference of the Plenum of the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation dated October 28, 2021. Sergey Belousov notes that, according to the decision of the Plenum, the divine services of Jehovah's Witnesses do not in themselves constitute corpus delicti.

    Video recordings of 5 worship services are played, which, as the believer explains, are not meetings of members of the banned LRO.

    A defense witness who is not one of Jehovah's Witnesses is being questioned. He characterizes Sergey Belousov as someone who has a decent reputation among the residents of Seversk. "The person is sympathetic, good. [...] If he was a bad person, then so many people would not worry about him," the witness notes.

  • #
    January 31, 2022 Hearing in a court of the first instance

    In the courtroom, in addition to the participants in the trial, the defendant's wife and daughter are present. The court rejects the motion to dismiss the criminal case.

  • #
    February 11, 2022 Hearing in a court of the first instance

    Despite the 25-degree frost, 67 people come to the courthouse to support Sergey Belousov. Only the defendant's wife is allowed into the courtroom.

    Judge Ekaterina Soldatenko attaches documents in the case of Jehovah's Witnesses from Kamchatka - Konstantin and Snezhana Bazhenov and Vera Zolotova. On January 18, 2022, the Kamchatka Regional Court acquitted the believers accused under the same article as Sergey Belousov (Article 282.2 of the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation). However, Soldatenko says that when sentencing Belousov, the court will make its own decision.

    The application for the exclusion of irrelevant material evidence shall be rejected.

  • #
    March 24, 2022 Prosecutor requested punishment

    The prosecutor requests for Sergey Belousov a sentence of 5 years of imprisonment in a general regime colony with restriction of freedom for 1 year.

  • #
    April 13, 2022 Final statement

    The defendant delivers the last word. The verdict will be announced on April 14.

  • #
    April 14, 2022 First Instance Sentence

    Ekaterina Soldatenko finds Sergey Belousov guilty of participating in the activities of an extremist organization and sentences him to 3 years of suspended sentence.

  • #
    April 18, 2022
  • #
    June 30, 2022 Court of Appeal

    The panel of judges of the Tomsk Regional Court approves the verdict to Sergey Belousov.

Дело Белоусова в Северске

Краткая история дела

В течение нескольких месяцев агент спецслужб Кира Клишева, изображавшая интерес к Библии, вела скрытые видеозаписи богослужений Свидетелей Иеговы в Северске. Она передавала полученные данные в ФСБ. В июле 2020 года сотрудники Следственного комитета вторглись с обыском к мирному семьянину Сергею Белоусову. В марте 2021 года следственный отдел по ЗАТО г. Северска возбудил против верующего уголовное дело, выделив его из дела Евгения Коротуна. Белоусова обвинили в экстремизме, который, по мнению следствия, выражался в участии в богослужениях, исполнении религиозных песен и молитвах. В июле 2021 года дело поступило в Северский городской суд Томской области. Его рассматривала судья Екатерина Солдатенко. 14 апреля 2022 года Белоусова приговорили к 3 годам условного наказания с ограничением свободы на 1 год. В июне 2022 года апелляционная инстанция утвердила это решение.

  • #
    14 июля 2020 г.

    Одновременно около 9 утра сотрудники Следственного комитета и ФСБ вторгаются в жилища Сергея Белоусова, Андрея Колесниченко, Андрея Ледяйкина, Алексея Ершова и Евгения Коротуна. 50-летнего Колесниченко и 31-летнего Ледяйкина сотрудники ФСБ задерживают на работе, после чего проводят обыски у них дома. У 67-летнего Алексея Ершова обыск длится около 5 часов. Его супругу в квартиру не пускают, но позднее отвозят на допрос вместе с мужем и дочерью.

    Одна из верующих позднее рассказывает: «Мы открыли дверь, так как ее уже почти начали ломать. В квартиру зашли примерно 10 человек и стали проводить обыск. Нас с сыном несколько часов держали на лестничной клетке. Соседи вынесли стул и немного еды». Старший следователь следственного отдела по Ленинскому району Томска лейтенант Сергей Мамонтов интересуется у Колесниченко, почему он «не посещает православную или католическую церковь».

    Правоохранители отбирают у верующих электронные устройства, различные издания Библии, записные книжки, Wi-Fi-роутеры, видеокамеры, фотографии, открытки, банковские карты, загранпаспорта и даже тома Виктора Гюго и Льва Толстого.

  • #
    25 марта 2021 г.

    Следственный отдел по ЗАТО г. Северск СУ СК РФ по Томской области возбуждает уголовное дело по ч. 2 ст. 282.2 УК РФ в отношении 43-летнего Сергея Белоусова. Уголовное дело выделено из дела в отношении Евгения Коротуна.

  • #
    30 марта 2021 г.

    Верующему предъявляется официальное обвинение на основании видеозаписей богослужений, сделанных К. Е. Клишевой с ее домашнего компьютера. Женщина около года изображала интерес к Библии, сотрудничая с ФСБ.

    Сергея Белоусова обвиняют в том, что он с помощью «программного обеспечения „Zoom“ и мобильного приложения „Signal“ принял участие в… религиозном богослужении», а также в «исполнении песен» и «молитвах Богу Иегове» (из обвинительного заключения).

  • #
    22 июня 2021 г.

    Уголовное дело Сергея Белоусова поступает в Северский городской суд Томской области, его будет рассматривать судья Екатерина Солдатенко.

  • #
    13 июля 2021 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции

    Начинаются слушания в Северском городском суде Томской области. В качестве слушателей в зал допускают только жену и дочь Сергея Белоусова.

    Прокурор зачитывает обвинительное заключение. Подсудимый выражает свое несогласие с предъявляемым ему обвинением.

    Судья отказывает прокурору в зачитывании письменных показаний свидетеля обвинения и просит вызвать его на следующее заседание.

  • #
    10 декабря 2021 г.

    Прокурор заканчивает чтение 6 томов дела. Среди материалов — библейские речи и статьи на темы: «Побеждай зло добром», «Отводи свои глаза от недостойного», «Вы можете стать для других поддержкой» и «Любовь укрепляет».

  • #
    14 января 2022 г.

    Несмотря на сильный мороз, к зданию суда приходит 18 человек, желающих поддержать подсудимого.

    Суд зачитывает характеристики Белоусова с места работы, от соседей, а также благодарственные письма из школы за хорошее воспитание дочери.

    Проходит допрос свидетеля защиты, который знаком с подсудимым более 10 лет. Он отмечает: «Сергей — добропорядочный, скромный, образованный человек, готовый в трудную минуту поддержать. Друг, короче говоря. С ним всегда можно о чем-то поговорить, на любую тему. Достаточно веселый».

  • #
    20 января 2022 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции

    Во время судебного заседания, несмотря на возражение прокурора Сидоренко, судья Екатерина Солдатенко дает согласие на просмотр фрагмента видеоконференции Пленума Верховного суда РФ от 28 октября 2021 года. Сергей Белоусов отмечает, что, согласно решению Пленума, богослужения Свидетелей Иеговы сами по себе не образуют состава преступления.

    Воспроизводятся видеозаписи 5 богослужений, которые, как поясняет верующий, не являются встречами членов запрещенной МРО.

    Допрашивается свидетель защиты, который не является Свидетелем Иеговы. Он характеризует Сергея Белоусова как того, кто имеет достойную репутацию среди жителей Северска. «Человек отзывчивый, хороший. […] Если бы это был плохой человек, то столько людей за него не переживало бы», — отмечает свидетель.

  • #
    31 января 2022 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции

    В зале суда, кроме участников процесса, присутствуют жена и дочь подсудимого. Суд отклоняет ходатайство о прекращении уголовного дела.

  • #
    11 февраля 2022 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции

    Несмотря на 25-градусный мороз, к зданию суда приходят 67 человек, желающих поддержать Сергея Белоусова. В зал суда пускают только жену подсудимого.

    Судья Екатерина Солдатенко приобщает документы по делу Свидетелей Иеговы с Камчатки — Константина и Снежаны Баженовых и Веры Золотовой. 18 января 2022 года Камчатский краевой суд оправдал верующих, обвиняемых по той же статье, что и Сергей Белоусов (ст. 282.2 УК РФ). Однако Солдатенко заявляет, что при вынесении приговора Белоусову суд вынесет собственное решение.

    Ходатайство об исключении вещдоков, не относящихся к делу, отклоняется.

  • #
    24 марта 2022 г. Прения. Прокурор просит наказание

    Прокурор запрашивает для Сергея Белоусова наказание в виде 5 лет лишения свободы в колонии общего режима с ограничением свободы на 1 год.

  • #
    13 апреля 2022 г. Последнее слово

    Подсудимый выступает с последним словом. Оглашение приговора назначается на 14 апреля.

  • #
    14 апреля 2022 г. Оглашение приговора

    Екатерина Солдатенко признает Сергея Белоусова виновным в участии в деятельности экстремистской организации и приговаривает его к 3 годам условного наказания.

  • #
    18 апреля 2022 г.
  • #
    30 июня 2022 г. Апелляция

    Коллегия судей Томского областного суда утверждает приговор Сергею Белоусову.